Journey

Since I moved to my new home, almost two months ago now, I’ve had a substantially longer commute. It’s also one which takes place over more than one mode of transport – sometimes a train and a bus, or a train and a tube. I don’t mind it, though.

The extra journey time gives me more time to think and to relax. It also gives me more time to read! In the last few weeks I’ve managed to whip through quite a few novels. This is by no means all of the books I’ve read lately, but just a few which are staring at me from my Kindle, so I may as well give a few opinions on them!

The Black Magician Trilogy, by Trudi Canavan
(The Magician’s Guild, The Novice, The High Lord)

the-black-magician-trilogy
Sinéad was given the first book of this trilogy by her boyfriend for her birthday, so naturally I felt that I needed to read it too.
The first time I tried it, I wasn’t that impressed with the beginning chapter. It was actually two months later that I sat down and decided to give it another go, and then I was hooked. I read all three books in the space of about a week, and thoroughly enjoyed them. I like fantasy trilogies, and I love reading about how different types of magic work. I really enjoyed the guild system, the class system at work against Sonea and the criminal underworld she escaped. As well as that, I thought Akkarin was a really interesting character. The only bit I wasn’t sold on was the romances. None of them really seemed to be all that convincing, I thought they really felt quite flat and predictable. Still a very enjoyable trilogy, though.
****

The Age of the Five Trilogy, by Trudi Canavan
(Priestess of the White, Voice of the Gods, The Last of the Wilds)
Trudi-Canavan-Trilogy Having enjoyed the Black Magician trilogy quite a lot, I decided I needed to get my hands on some more Trudi Canavan, so I decided to read another trilogy by her. This one, well, having read the Black Magician trilogy, it became a bit… samey. The magic was different, the world was different, but a lot of the plot points were the same – strong, powerful, female magician, blah blah.
That’s a bit harsh, now, I have to be honest. I really did enjoy this as well. I had worked out the plot twists really early, though, so it wasn’t as impactful as it could have been.
Probably if I had read this before Black Magician, I would have reversed their ratings, but as it is, this one gets three stars to Black Magician’s four.
***

The Traitor Spy Trilogy, by Trudi Canavan
(The Ambassador’s Mission, The Rogue, The Traitor Queen)
index This trilogy follows on from the Black Magician trilogy, twenty years later. Many of the same characters return, along with a host of new characters both related and unrelated to the original trilogy.
I liked that this one explored more of the world outside of Imardin – we get to see more of Sachaka, which was a strange and foreign place in the first trilogy. I liked the development here, and it felt like a step beyond what we saw in The Black Magician trilogy.
Again, it felt a bit samey. By this point, reading my third Canavan trilogy in two weeks, I was probably so used to her writing style that I was anticipating what was happening. The similarities now in the third trilogy were becoming overt, so I got a little bored of them.
That said, though, overall I think I prefer Kyralia(the Black Magician/Traitor Spy world) to the Age of the Five trilogy, so even though I think this trilogy is probably the weakest of the three, I’m giving it the same rating as Age of the Five.
***

I’m gonna wrap this up now because it’s getting a bit long. I’ll continue tomorrow.

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “Journey

  1. Pingback: More Books | Much Ado About Nothing

  2. Pingback: Book #65 – The Magician’s Apprentice | Much Ado About Nothing

Leave a Reply

