Riordan’s Books

RickRiordanHeros4bksI’ve been rather sparse on the book posts on the blog lately.

It’s not that I haven’t been reading – I have!

But nine of the books I read recently are Rick Riordan’s Olympus series, so I didn’t think anybody would like to read nine consecutive days of posts about the same two (related) series of books.

In the end, I figured I’d just do one big post about all nine of them.

So! Percy Jackson (short for Perseus) is an ADHD, dyslexic kid who’s been kicked out of at least one school a year for the last who-knows-how-long.
After he accidentally dematerialises his English teacher, he begins to slowly realise that he’s not a normal kid.

Things happen, he accidentally kills a minotaur, his best friend turns out to be half goat, and, well, it turns out that Percy is not, in fact, entirely human. He’s a demi-god.

This isn’t the only series I’ve read about Greek demi–gods. I seem to recall some when I was younger, and recently Josephine Angelini’s Starcrossed series was focused on Greek descendants.

In any case, I have really, really enjoyed both of Rick Riordan’s Olympus series.

The first is five books long – Percy Jackson and the Olympians, and it consists of:
The Lightning Thief
The Sea of Monsters
The Titan’s Curse
The Battle of the Labyrinth
The Last Olympian.

The second will be five books long, but only four are currently published – The Heroes of Olympus, and it consists of:
The Lost Hero
The Son of Neptune
The Mark of Athena
The House of Hades

The books get longer and more satisfying as they go on. Percy (and company) meet a variety of different Greek monsters and characters, and I have great fun trying to figure out who each person will turn out to be, and how their story will be different this time around.

Riordan has done a great job of bringing Greek (and Roman) mythology into the modern day.
I was always going to be biased towards liking these books, because I absolutely love Greek and Roman mythology, but I honestly think that Riordan has done a genuinely stunning job of writing these books.
They’re written for 9-12 year olds, and the first series reads like that, but the second, the Heroes of Olympus, are as satisfying a read as plenty of books I’ve read aimed at older readers.

I’m only deducting one star from these two series because I have to wait another twelve months before the last book is published.

Four stars!
****

4 Comments

Filed under Books

4 responses to “Riordan’s Books

  1. My girls love these books! I wish they were around when i was a kid. I saved exactly one book from high-school English, and that was a book of mythology I’ll always treasure.

  2. I still have all the books I studied in school, but the one which got the most focus was Across the Barricades, a Northern Irish story of a forbidden romance. It’s absolutely destroyed because my brother, my sister and myself all studied it, so it’s filled with various highlighter marks, and a flipbook animation in the corners (drawn by my brother) of a penalty kick!

  3. Pingback: Book #131 – The Blood of Olympus | Much Ado About Books

  4. Pingback: Book #139 – Of Heroes and Kings | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

