Daily Archives: December 18, 2013

Frozen

A few days ago, in conversation with Sinéad, she seemed to get rather upset about the fact that, because Alex and I give joint presents, and she and Mark don’t, as a couple, we were gaining in terms of presents.

I tried to convince her that sort of wasn’t the point of presents, keeping score, but she was unmoved by my arguments.
So as compensation, I decided to bring her to see frozen today.

So we traipsed out to the cinema this evening, although evening might be stretching it a bit. Apparently Disney films don’t tend to be on very late. In any case, today we watched frozen.

I love Disney any time, really, it’s probably the only sort of films that I can claim any kind of real knowledge about. I’ve really enjoyed the last few films they’ve brought out, especially with their lessened focus on romantic relationships.

Frozen is a gorgeous film. It’s visually amazing – the eternal winter lends itself to some incredibly picturesque icy landscapes.

The story focuses on Anna and Elsa, two princesses of the kingdom of Arendelle. Anna, the younger, is a clumsy shut-in, lonely and isolated from everyone. The reason? Her elder sister, Elsa, is trying to hide the fact that she was born with the power to create ice and snow.

Naturally, hiding it doesn’t go so well, and in attempting to run away, Elsa accidentally thrusts Arendelle into an eternal winter. Cue adventures trying to find Elsa, cease the winter, and various other things.

I really enjoyed frozen. I think it was visually gorgeous, and the music was great (with powerhouse Idina Menzel on board, let it go is the standout song of the film) and the themes of the story – love, family, acceptance, – were beautifully portrayed. There are lots of theories online about what Elsa’s ice-powers represent, but to be honest I don’t care that much about them. I just really enjoyed it as a film. Very cute. Highly recommended.

Leave a comment

Filed under Other