Books #23, #33 & #34: Matched Trilogy

9780525426264_1These books I have seen pop up many times in recommended lists – it’s always ‘if you liked Delirium, try these!’, so eventually I did try them, and here is my opinion.

They’re alright. They’re not the worst books I’ve ever read, but they’re very much focussed on the love story (which I knew they would be) and they lack a lot of the depth which other dystopian books build on. Plus, the whole premise of the books is the love triangle, which really, really rankles with me.

Anyways. On to the review proper!

Matched – Ally Condie
Crossed – Ally Condie
Reached – Ally Condie

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate… until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow”

^ That’s the blurb from Matched, the first in the trilogy. As you can see, it sets up the love triangle from the very beginning. Cassia is your typical female YA protagonist – smart, pretty, fit, reliable: she’s your typical Mary Sue. I know she has one flaw (they always do) but I can’t remember what it is – that’s probably a sign of how forgettable a character she is.

The Matched trilogy is a good but not a great example of dystopia. I did enjoy reading it – I need something to entertain me on the train to work – but I wasn’t completely hooked on it the way I have been with other series (Gone, for example, is destroying my life, in a good way) and now that a few months have passed since I read it, I’m finding it very hard to recall details.

Matched is a forgettable example, jumping on a bandwagon of a currently popular genre – I don’t think it’s a series which will stand the test of time. For the hopeless romantics, who love to see couples who struggle with nothing more than being near each other at all times, surmounting impossible odds to make their love survive, this trilogy is probably right up your avenue – I was just expecting a little more than that.

(I’ve seen a few comments that the whole idea of The Society is lifted directly from Lois Lowry’s The Giver quartet, but I can’t really comment on that as I haven’t read The Giver. If true, though, it makes this book all the more disappointing – the totalitarianism of The Society was one of the only interesting things in it)

Three stars
***

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “Books #23, #33 & #34: Matched Trilogy

  1. Pingback: Books #77-80 – The Giver Quartet | Much Ado About Nothing

  2. Pingback: Girls in White Dresses | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

