Book #42 – Pictures of Lily

81bTjxSHP8L._SL1234_I’m actually not sure at all where this book came from. I suspect it was being given away free at some point, because I found it in my iBooks with no recollection of actually having bought it, which is probably just as well, because I would have immensely regretted any money I spent on it.

Pictures of Lily – Paige Toon

‘Will you marry me?’ I think of you, then. I think of you every day. But usually in the quietest part of the morning, or the darkest part of the night. Not when my boyfriend of two years has just proposed. I look up at Richard with his hopeful eyes. ‘Lily?’ he prompts. It’s been ten years, but it feels like only yesterday that you left. How can I say yes to Richard with all my heart when most of it has always belonged to you? I take a deep breath and will myself to speak…Ten years ago when Lily was just sixteen, she fell in love with someone she really shouldn’t have fallen in love with. Now, living in Sydney and engaged to another man, she can’t forget the one that got away. Then her past comes back to haunt her, and she has to make a decision that will break her heart – and the heart of at least one of the men who love her.

From the blurb of this book, it’s pretty easy to see where this book is going to go. Whatever happened when she was sixteen, Lily fell in love, but it was totally inappropriate and wrong because she was sixteen and he was a lot older (I’m talking like, twelve years older, if I recall correctly). But it’s okay, because she’s never gotten over a teenage infatuation, and when he shows up again ten years later, it’s then fine for them to start a relationship based on her teenaged infatuation with a man who was friends with her stepfather. It’s not in any way strange that she breaks off an engagement to a guy on the basis of a teenaged love affair that never was, and if it had been, it would have been strange, abusive, and an awful abuse of power on the part of the guy.

No, no, it was fine then, and now that she’s grown up, the power dynamic wouldn’t be at all the same.

I just didn’t enjoy this book at all, it was full of all sorts of weird power dynamics and strange relationships, and not ones which were thought-provoking, but more just provocative for the sake of it. I do not recommend at all.

Two stars
**

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “Book #42 – Pictures of Lily

  1. Pingback: The Longest Holiday – Paige Toon | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

