Book #74 – The Girl with all the Gifts

17235026Sinéad and I have a system, since we live in different countries – if we see a book we think the other might like, or which we find interesting, we text a picture of it. This was one of those books (she sent it to me), and after checking it out, I agreed, so I picked it up a few weeks ago, and read it not long after.

It’s entirely different to what I thought it would be, but that doesn’t stop it from being a fiercely engrossing and interesting book, which I devoured in about two days.

The Girl with all the Gifts – M.R. Carey

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class.

When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite. But they don’t laugh.

Melanie is a very special girl.

As you can see, the blurb gives away precisely nothing. I really enjoyed going into this book knowing very little, so I’m not going to put too much information in this review, as I think it would do potential readers a disservice.

So, while giving as little away as possible, I loved this book. I loved the gradual reveal of who and what Melanie is. I loved her relationship with Miss Justineau, and with the other supporting characters.

I thought the premise of the book was fiercely interesting, the worldbuilding solid and believable, the characterisation and character development strong. The book kept me interested the entire way through, and I thought the conclusion was achingly brilliant.

I also found, online, a secret chapter, which elaborates a little on what happened after the end of the book. I think it would have been better served by including it in the book, though, as it added a little more depth to the conclusion.

There. That’s it, that’s all I’m gonna say about this book. I fiercely enjoyed it, although at times I was a little frustrated with it. Not enough to do any major damage to my enjoyment though, leaving me with a solid desire to recommend the book to others and a hope that M.R. Carey writes more, which I will assuredly pick up.

 

Four Stars
****

 

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “Book #74 – The Girl with all the Gifts

  1. chillymilly

    I feel like such a spam bot, but I honestly love your blog! I nominated you for an award
    http://chillymilly.wordpress.com/2014/09/03/thanks-for-the-nomination/

  2. Thank you, I really appreciate that!!!! I’ll post my own once I get around to it!

  3. Pingback: Book #96 – Lexicon | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

