2016 Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge

I couldn’t actually remember where I found this reading challenge – I thought it might have been a blogger from Rick O’Shea’s book club, though, so I went looking. After having a look, it turns out it was Aoife from Pretty Purple Polka dots who posted both challenges I’m doing this year, although I had found the Popsugar one independently of that. But this post is about the Modern Mrs Darcy challenge for 2016!

I have to admit, I don’t specifically read books with the aim of ticking things off the list – more like I read books, and then see if they fit any of the categories. But this is the challenge, and this is how I’m doing so far:

  • a book published this year
  • a book you can finish in a day
    • Hired Bride – Noelle Adams: this was free on iBooks, and I devoured it one day in early January. A light, fluffy, Mills&Boon-type romance which did exactly what I expected by keeping me entertained during the Christmas holidays.
  • a book you’ve been meaning to read
  • a book recommended by your local librarian or bookseller
  • a book you should have read in school
    • I don’t know HOW I’m going to do this one, considering I read everything I could find. I suppose I could re-read one of my assigned texts from Uni… I’ll consider this one.
  • a book chosen for you by your spouse, partner, sibling, child, or BFF
    • although I haven’t done this yet, my best friend Dave gave me a book for Christmas which will fulfil this criterion, so expect it to show up eventually!
  • a book published before you were born
    • Knockdown – Dick Francis. I re-read this earlier this year after a discussion with my dad. The main character has an easily dislocated shoulder, which is also true of my dad, so I’ve always associated it with him.
  • a book that was banned at some point
  • a book you previously abandoned
    • There are currently two books abandoned on my ‘reading’ shelf on GoodReads. Hopefully one of those will slot into this spot.
  • a book you own but have never read
  • a book that intimidates you
  • a book you’ve already read at least once
    • So many books could fulfil this. We’ll go with the first ten Princess Diaries books, which I mentioned in my January/February roundup.

As of the start of April, which is three months into the year, I’ve got four of twelve categories ticked off, so I’m ahead of schedule, really. I’ll update again in a few months!

 

8 Comments

Filed under Books

8 responses to “2016 Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge

  1. That’s fantastic progress! You’re doing a lot better than me – I’m a little behind where I expected to be. But there’s still eight months left of the year! Glad I was able to help in your reading prowess!

  2. I think I’ve just been lucky in that books I was reading anyway have fitted into the right categories – we’ll see how the rest of the year goes! =)

  3. I’m like you – I don’t like to read books other than just because I fancy them, but this is interesting. Maybe I’ll just see how I’ve done at the end of the year!

  4. I think around November I’ll have to start planning books to meet whatever categories I haven’t already ticked off! 😀

  5. Pingback: PopSugar Reading Challenge Update | Much Ado About Books

  6. Pingback: Graceling Trilogy | Much Ado About Books

  7. Pingback: #ReadingforGold – Final Update | Much Ado About Books

  8. Pingback: Modern Mrs Darcy Update | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

