April Round-Up

April is one of my favourite months, usually, because my birthday is slap bang in the middle of it. So for me, this means lots and lots of new books to read!

This year, however, April was marred by the large, looming behemoth on the horizon – my PhD viva was in the last week of April, and that required a lot of preparation, both in terms of actually preparing for my viva, and in terms of contemplating what to do after my PhD is finished in increasingly panicked terms.

Thankfully, I passed the viva (albeit with a lot of corrections) and have at least some structure to the next three months of my life (do the corrections), so I will still have plenty of time on tubes and buses to catch up on my reading.

In April I read eleven books and one novella. Here’s a little list, and some pretty pictures!

  • The Girl From Everywhere – Heidi Heilig
  • Ignite Me – Tahereh Mafi
  • I Know What I’m Doing – And Other Lies I Tell Myself – Jen Kirkman
  • Unravel Me – Tahereh Mafi
  • The One Plus One – Jojo Moyes
  • Lady Midnight – Cassandra Clare
  • The Siren – Kiera Cass
  • After You – Jojo Moyes
  • All The Rage – Courtney Summers
  • The Last Week of May – Roisin Meaney
  • The Beating of His Wings – Paul Hoffman
  • Novella: Fracture Me – Tahereh Mafi

Clearly I was in a Tahereh Mafi mood as I finished the Shatter Me trilogy, although two Jojo Moyes books in one month is also notable – neither of those were short. Lady Midnight was a doorstopper of a book – I was glad I was carrying it around on a kindle, not in hardback!

Something a little bit unusual about April which I think is worth noting – I read a non-fiction book. IKWID-AOLITM was written by Jen Kirkman, and is her second book. I bought it because she’s my boyfriend Ronan’s second favourite comedian, and I went to see her standup show in London last year. I quite enjoyed it, so thought I’d buy her book when it came out the week of my birthday (plus I had birthday money for books). That’s unusual enough that I’ll definitely try and get a post on it up when I get the chance.

Lots of these are worth reviewing, I think, so I’m hoping to get a few more posts on April’s books up when I get the chance, but my PhD is really getting in the way of my book blogging life. It’s really quite inconsiderate of real life to intrude that way.

There are some super covers in my April lineup – look at that dress on The Siren! If only I had read that book before I wrote my dresses post a few weeks ago. Plus I’ve already waxed lyrical about how much I liked the eyes on the covers of the Shatter Me series. Lady Midnight is a gorgeously evocative addition to the Shadowhunters Chronicles, and The Girl From Everywhere made me smile every time I took it out of my bag. The only problem with reading mostly on my Kindle is that I don’t get to see these beautiful covers often enough.

Next month will be taken up with reading the books I got for and around my birthday – as well as catching up on everything else on my TBR, while attempting to finish my PhD and find a job to support myself after that. No bother really. Here’s a little snapshot of what’s coming up for me:

2016-04-23 21.03.25

Currently Reading: A Face Like Glass, by Francis Hardinge. Next up: V for Violet, by Alison Rattle. Can’t wait!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

