May Roundup

It’s hard to believe that we’ve reached the end of May already. This year has really flown in, and I’m struggling to believe that we’re into the sixth month. There’s still so much I need to do this year, it can’t be this far in! What happened to it only just being February? Where did April go?

May, for me, was quite an empty month. Although I had to do corrections to my thesis, it took a long time for my examiners’ report to come back, which left me a lot of free time for reading. As a result, my read list is the longest in May of the entire year – 20 books and 6 short stories. I had a lot of time to think about when my report was going to arrive and what I should do in the mean time, and came to the conclusion that what I should do in the mean time was read. Probably not the most productive way to finish my PhD, I will admit…

The books were:

  1. A Face Like Glass – Francis Hardinge
  2. V for Violet – Alison Rattle
  3. The Hidden Oracle – Rick Riordan
  4. Silver Bay – Jojo Moyes
  5. That Girl From Nowhere – Dorothy Koomson
  6. The Knife of Never Letting Go – Patrick Ness
  7. Bridesmaid-In-Training – Meg Cabot
  8. The Crown – Keira Cass
  9. Keeping Sam – Joanne Phillips
  10. Eragon – Christopher Paolini*
  11. The Ask and The Answer – Patrick Ness
  12. An Ember In The Ashes – Sabaa Tahir
  13. Monsters of Men – Patrick Ness
  14. London Belongs To Us – Sarra Manning
  15. Flawed – Cecelia Ahern
  16. The Copper Gauntlet – Holly Black and Cassandra Clare
  17. The Beautiful Between – Alyssa B Sheinmel
  18. Feeling Sorry For Celia – Jaclyn Moriarty*
  19. Shadow and Bone – Leigh Bardugo
  20. Finding Cassie Crazy – Jaclyn Moriarty*

The short stories were all (no exceptions) e-shorts from series I was reading at the same time. Some may say that makes me predictable. I just say that I like to expand the worlds I’m reading.

  1. From There To Here – Dorothy Koomson
  2. The New World – Patrick Ness
  3. The Wide Wide Sea – Patrick Ness
  4. Snowscape – Patrick Ness
  5. The Witch of Duva – Leigh Bardugo
  6. The Tailor – Leigh Bardugo

Three of this month’s books were re-reads, and two of those re-reads were some of my absolute favourite books ever – the Jaclyn Moriarty ones. There are two more books in the series, and I’m sure I’ll re-read them before too long as well. I actually re-read them on the basis of a photo I saw on tumblr, which made me want to pick up Feeling Sorry for Celia again.

I read an entire trilogy (plus three accompanying short stories) over the course of the month, finished The Selection series, started a new dystopia  duology (Flawed), a new fantasy trilogy (The Grisha/Shadow and Bone), continued a school-fantasy (Magisterium/The Copper Gauntlet), started a new (but same world) urban fantasy (The Trials of Apollo/The Hidden Oracle), continued The Notebooks of a Middle School Princess (which is quite funny, I have to admit), and read six standalone novels. Quite a good cross-section, I would have thought. Dorothy Koomson, Jojo Moyes and Alyssa Sheinmel, I had read other books of theirs before, and Cecelia Ahern was a change from adult to YA (although I still wasn’t thrilled by her) but lots of authors were new to me – Patrick Ness, Leigh Bardugo, Francis Hardinge, Alison Rattle, and Joanne Phillips. Several of those will undoubtedly feature again this year (for sure because I will need to finish the Grisha trilogy, and I bought my sister a Patrick Ness book for her birthday).

But now, my favourite part of the monthly roundups – pictures!

I have always loved the covers for Feeling Sorry For Celia and Finding Cassie Crazy. I also love Becoming Bindy Mackenzie (which I will read next month) which is green with a cherry on it, and similarly cut/pasted letters.

London Belongs to Us is a really fun cover, and I’m kind of disappointed I got a NetGalley copy, so I can’t put it on my shelf. Flawed, on the other hand, is a hardcover copy, and looks GREAT – the F for flawed symbol isn’t very clear in the image, but it’s (I think) glossed onto the cover, and catches the light really well when you’re looking at it. Very atmospheric cover, I really liked it.

The Crown, of course, was mentioned in my dresses post a few weeks ago.

All in all, I think May was a pretty successful month for reading (even if not for anything else), although it went by FAR too fast, and I would like the world to slow down, please.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “May Roundup

  1. Pingback: June Round-Up | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

