July Round-Up

Whoa! It seems like no time at all since I was posting about what I read in June, and yet here we are at the end of another month. I can’t even blame July for being a short month, because it has one day more than June does!

July didn’t have as many books in it as June, and for some reason I had very few short stories indeed (only one!) but it did tick off a few challenge criteria, which I’ll post about soon.

Books

  1. With Malice – Eileen Cook
  2. You and Me, Always – Jill Mansell
  3. The Pearls of Lutra – Brian Jacques*
  4. The Yellow Room – Jess Vallance
  5. The Long Patrol – Brian Jacques*
  6. Local Girl Missing – Claire Douglas
  7. Our Chemical Hearts – Krystal Sutherland
  8. Snow Like Ashes – Sara Raasch
  9. Truly Madly Guilty – Liane Moriarty
  10. Nothing Tastes As Good – Claire Hennessy
  11. The Rest Of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness
  12. The Potion Diaries – Amy Alward
  13. The Substitute – Denise Grover Swank
  14. Marlfox – Brian Jacques*
  15. Ring of Truth – Jaclyn Weist
  16. The Night Watch – Sergei Lukanyenko*
  17. Smoke & Shadow – Gene Luen Yang, Bryan Konietzko, Mike DiMartino
  18. The Accident Season – Moira Fowley-Doyle
  19. The Legend of Luke – Brian Jacques*

Plus one short story:
Icicles Like Kindling – Sara Raasch.

As ever, the spread of covers for the month is beautiful! I particularly liked the pure white and fish of Our Chemical Hearts, and will most likely be buying a copy to go on my shelf when it is published. Surprisingly, I read *two* bright yellow books this month, which happened to end up next to each other at one point and hurt my eyes a little.

Favourite book this month: Our Chemical Hearts

Favourite cover this month: a double whammy, this was Our Chemical Hearts as well!

In a strange coincidence, I managed this month to read two books which centred around fake engagements – Ring of Truth and The Substitute. Neither was particularly amazing, I have to admit.

The biggest group of books this month was Redwall – I read four of them in my re-read, something else I keep meaning to post about in the future. I’m sure I’ll get around to it soon.

The other big bookish thing I did in July was go to YALC, the Young Adult Literature Convention, in London, over the last weekend of the month. I was excited beforehand and today am still trying to recover from the entire weekend of awesomeness that I experienced. A post about that is also forthcoming.

August is crunch time for my doctorate – any changes have to be complete before the end of the month, so I’m not anticipating as much time to read as I’ve had recently. Equally, I’m not sure I’ll have as much time to blog, but I’ll try keep this little corner of the internet as up to date as I can!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

