Blog Tour – Guest Post by Rory Dunlop

Welcome to stop 3 on Rory Dunlop’s blog tour for his darkly funny book What We Didn’t Say. Perfect for fans of Us by David Nicholls and The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett,  What We Didn’t Say is a story of a marriage in crisis, about that gap between words and feelings where relationships live – and die.

My early writing and reading (e.g. favourite childhood books) – Rory Dunlop

Dunlop RoryThere were many authors I loved as a child – Roald Dahl, C.S.Lewis, Roger Lancelyn Green etc.  It’s been one of the great pleasures of parenthood to read them again to my older daughter, Mary.  We’ve read all of Roald Dahl and now we’re onto the last book in the Narnia series.  My only concern is that now Mary has an idea for her next birthday party that will be rather difficult to live up to – she wants the guests to come in through a wardrobe to a room where there will be fake snow on the floor and a lion you can ride.

The first novel I loved as an adolescent was The Catcher In The Rye. I write about it in the novel.  I suppose it was the first novel I came across with a strong narratorial voice.  I liked seeing the world through the eyes of this witty adolescent who’d stand no bullshit.  The first novel that made me want to be a writer was Anna Karenina, which I read when I was around fourteen.  I loved it so much I almost felt bereft when I finished it.  I loved how Tolstoy could put, in clear and perfect sentences, thoughts and observations I’d had but couldn’t articulate.  It thrilled and reassured me to know that, in another century and another country, there was someone who’d felt like me and thought the same things.  I wanted to speak to others in the way Tolstoy had spoken to me.  I thought I wouldn’t be able to do it and it took twenty years before I plucked up the courage to try.

In the meantime, I read a lot.  After Anna Karenina, I became addicted to Victorian fiction.  When I was 16 or 17, I’d tear through 1,000 page Trollope novels that I’d never have the patience to read now.

The Author

Rory Dunlop studied Classics at Oxford and worked as a teacher and journalist before being called to the Bar. He spent a year in Strasbourg, writing judgments for the European Court of Human Rights, failing to learn French and falling in love with Lika. They now have two daughters and live in London. He’s written a text book on immigration law and several book reviews for the Spectator and, very occasionally, people read his tweets.

The Book

What We Didn't SayA darkly funny story of a marriage in crisis, perfect for readers who loved Us by David Nicholls and The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett

‘A touching, even-handed and thoroughly engaging tale of love, jealousy and fatherhood’
Jim Crace, multi-award-winning author of Harvest



Jack and Laura have separated. Jack thinks it’s all Laura’s fault.

Laura disagrees.

Jack writes to Laura, desperate to put across his side of the story.

Laura interrupts.

Wryly sarcastic and intensely well-observed, What We Didn’t Say is about that gap between words and feelings where relationships live – and die.

Published on August 30th, What We Didn’t Say is available now!
Check out the other blogs on this blog tour for more content from Dunlop!

What We Didnt Say Blog Tour_Banner

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

