Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella

27823777I haven’t specifically reviewed any Sophie Kinsella books on this blog before (although I’ve read a lot of them), so you might not have realised that I really enjoy her books. She’s written lots of really funny fiction about women getting into incredibly awkward and also hilarious situations, but in a way that’s both true to life and terribly endearing. Everything I’ve read of Sophie Kinsella’s has been verging on the ridiculous, but in a way that makes me accept it, as she writes with such humour and warmth that her books leave me feeling really warm and fuzzy inside.

Finding Audrey is her first foray into YA fiction, where previously she’s written adult books. I picked it up a few weeks ago, because I wanted to see if her humour translates into YA books. Good news! It totally does!

Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella

From the bestselling author of the Shopaholic series comes a story of humour, heart and heartache. Finding Audrey is Sophie Kinsella’s first novel for teens, sure to appeal to her legions of adult and young adult fans all over the world.

Audrey can’t leave the house. she can’t even take off her dark glasses inside the house.

Then her brother’s friend Linus stumbles into her life. With his friendly, orange-slice smile and his funny notes, he starts to entice Audrey out again – well, Starbucks is a start. And with Linus at her side, Audrey feels like she can do the things she’d thought were too scary. Suddenly, finding her way back to the real world seems achievable.

Be prepared to laugh, dream and hope with Audrey as she learns that even when you feel like you have lost yourself, love can still find you . . .

I was a little wary about this one. I wasn’t sure if Kinsella’s humour would transfer to YA, or else I was worried that it would tackle a relatively serious subject – Audrey’s anxiety – with too much levity. I wasn’t sure that it would be able to strike a balance between serious and light-hearted, and would take the shine off my normal enjoyment of Kinsella’s books.

I was wrong to worry, though. Finding Audrey was, for me, perfectly pitched, that it dealt with Audrey and her struggles with enough humour to keep it light-hearted, and enough gravitas to stop it seeming frivolous. Audrey’s mother, in particular, was a Daily Mail-reading panic-stricken overthinker who made me laugh out loud several times.

The format of the book was interesting – the chapters were very short, and interspersed with screenplay excerpts. Audrey’s gradual development over the course of the book as she prepared to start school again was nicely documented through the development of her film as well.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. Audrey as a main character was so easy to relate to, and her budding relationship with Linus was filled with all the bittersweet feelings of first teenage love. Not too serious but not saccharine sweet, Finding Audrey was a winner for me.

Four Stars
****

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella

  1. katiereablog

    Thank you for sharing this post. I love this author and I really enjoyed reading this book. It is always good to read other people’s views on books that I have read. I am following you so I can read more of your reviews.

  2. Pingback: The Good Girlfriend’s Guide to Getting Even | Much Ado About Books

  3. Pingback: Cover Wars | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

