August Round-Up

So for all that I said that August wouldn’t be a mega book month, since I was supposed to be doing my final corrections, I still managed to get a fair few packed in. I guess I’m just much lazier about doing the corrections than I thought – although I did do them, and send them on to my examiners. Now I’m stuck in the interminable purgatory of waiting for the examiners to either approve them, or seek further corrections. I’m inclined to believe it will be the latter, because I’m pessimistic, but I’m hoping with a tiny part of my brain that it will be the former, and I will finally (finally!) be finished this doctorate. I never expected it to take such a long time, and I’m more than burned out with it.

In any case, today is the last day of August, and it was a month filled with books, as well as stress. I started off the month with Goldenhand, my most-anticipated read of the year, and the rest of the month has been similarly good.

Books

  1. Goldenhand – Garth Nix
  2. What Remains of Me – AL Gaylin
  3. A Torch Against The Night – Sabaa Tahir
  4. Royal Tour – Amy Alward
  5. Holding Up The Universe – Jennifer Niven
  6. What We Did’t Say – Rory Dunlop
  7. Yours, Faithfully – Sheila O’Flanagan
  8. Stealing Snow – Danielle Paige
  9. Changing Places – Colette Caddle
  10. Frostblood – Ally Blake
  11. The Memory Book – Lara Avery
  12. Sabriel – Garth Nix*
  13. Glass Sword – Victoria Aveyard
  14. Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella
  15. One – Sarah Crossan
  16. Night Study – Maria V Snyder
  17. 13 Minutes – Sarah Pinborough
  18. Happily Ever After – Kiera Cass
  19. Say You Will – Kate Perry
  20. All The Bright Places – Jennifer Niven
  21. Sing – Vivi Greene
  22. My Sister’s Keeper – Jodi Picoult*
  23. The Fairy Tale Bride – Scarlet Wilson
  24. Throne of Glass – Sarah J Maas*
  25. The Unexpected Everything – Morgan Matson
  26. Lord Brocktree – Brian Jacques
  27. The Assassin’s Blade – Sarah J Maas*

Short Stories

I only read two short stories this month, but somewhat confusingly, the single short story I read from the collection To Hold the Bridge was, in fact, the story To Hold the Bridge, so I kept trying to put it in the books list instead of this list.

I also, technically, read two collections of short stories/novellas – The Assassin’s Blade and Happily Ever After, but since they’re sold as packaged books, they did actually make it onto the books list.

So my two short stories were

  1. The Creature in the Case
  2. To Hold the Bridge

Cover Art

Favourite Book This Month:

Without a doubt, this has to be Goldenhand. The only book which might have beaten it was Sabriel, but Goldenhand wins this time on novelty. In any month without new Garth Nix (or old Garth Nix) there would have been a lot of contenders for favourite book – A Torch Against the Night was superb, and All The Bright Places was heartwrenching, but I really, really love Garth Nix, so he wins this one, no questions asked.

Favourite Cover This Month:

Frostblood wins it this month for me, although Glass Sword was a close second. Just look at those ice-coated petals! My proof copy doesn’t have that cover art, but I think I’m going to have to buy a copy when Frostblood publishes, just so I can look at it!

Other Thoughts:

I continued my Redwall Reread with Lord Brocktree. Thirteen books in and I’m still loving this series. Incidentally, since my sister is currently reading Marlfox, and I’ve finished Lord Brocktree, our rereads have caught up with each other. From the next book in (Taggerung), we’ll be going in the same order.

I’ve also started rereading the Throne of Glass series, in preparation for the release of Empire of Storms next week. I’m really looking forward to Empire of Storms, but I have to keep reminding myself that it’s not the last book in the series, so it will probably end on some massive cliffhanger and then I’ll have to wait an entire year for the next one again. But in the mean time, I still have three more Throne of Glass books to get through before I even start Empire of Storms!

Sing, by Vivi Greene, I found to be quite forgettable, and I don’t think I’ll write a post reviewing it. But I have to admit that every time I looked at the cover, Ed Sheeran popped into my head. This was compounded by a clip from the Great British Bake Off, in which Val danced around her kitchen to that song while making cakes.

I also spent a substantial amount of this month sobbing into my books. All The Bright Places made me cry ugly tears, Glass Sword had a few heart-wrenching moments, The Memory Book took my breath away, One had my boyfriend checking if I was quite alright, Holding Up the Universe made my eyes burn, Sing gave me happy damp eyes on the final page … actually, maybe it’s not the books. Maybe I’m just too easily given towards tears. But All the Bright Places and The Memory Book should come with warnings on them for the risk of damp pages!

One other slightly odd thing which happened this month – the Sheila O’Flanagan book I read, Yours, Faithfully. I actually have no idea whether or not I’ve read it before. Parts of it seemed incredibly familiar – specifically that the guy had several mobile phones – but parts of it felt entirely new. So I was really torn on whether or not to put an asterisk on it in the list. I decided not to as, on balance, I probably read the first half of it, and didn’t finish it. But it’s a strange sort of anomaly in the list. I may well have read all of it before, but I’m just not sure.

Eight months in, I’ve read 146 books. That’s well over my GoodReads target of 100, and also well on track to beat 2014, when I read 154 books altogether. I really need to start looking again at the book challenges, to make sure that I tick off as many categories as I can in the next four months. Here’s hoping!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “August Round-Up

  1. Pingback: What Remains of Me – A.L. Gaylin | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

