Modern Mrs Darcy Update

I have to admit I’ve fallen behind on my preferred blog schedule this week. I started a new job on Tuesday and the fact that I need to be up at times which are before, you know, 10am, has hit me harder than I thought it would. Doing my PhD, I was able to set my own hours, but that’s not really the case with actual jobs, so I’m taking a little more time than I would like to adjust to this new system, and things like blogging, tweeting, instagramming, and in fact anything that isn’t sleeping, have rather fallen by the wayside.

So today’s post is an update on the Modern Mrs Darcy challenge, since I’ve ticked off a few more categories since the last time I talked about it, and a few thoughts on the books I’ve added.

  • a book published this year
  • a book you can finish in a day
    • Hired Bride – Noelle Adams: this was free on iBooks, and I devoured it one day in early January. A light, fluffy, Mills&Boon-type romance which did exactly what I expected by keeping me entertained during the Christmas holidays.
  • a book you’ve been meaning to read
    • I really enjoyed the Throne of Glass series so far, and having read Empire of Storms when it was published at the start of this month, I was even more convinced that I needed to make a start on A Court of Thorns and Roses, the first of Sarah J Maas’s other series. I read it during this week, so I don’t have a post on it yet, but I’m hoping to get one up before too long!
  • a book recommended by your local librarian or bookseller
    • At present I’ve got the Graceling trilogy in this spot, but I’m not entirely sure if I’m going to keep it at that. I might see what else I’ve read by the end of the year which fits in better.
  • a book you should have read in school
    • I don’t know HOW I’m going to do this one, considering I read everything I could find. I suppose I could re-read one of my assigned texts from Uni… I’ll consider this one.
  • a book chosen for you by your spouse, partner, sibling, child, or BFF
    • The Lost Child – Caryl Philips was chosen for me (and given to me for Christmas) by my BFF, Dave. It did take me a full nine months to read it, but to be honest, I’m pretty sure I could’ve survived even longer without reading it. My thoughts on this book, as demonstrated in the post linked, are mostly an incomprehensible mess of questions. This was, without question, the worst book I’ve read this year so far. More than any of the badly written or simply dull books that I’ve clocked up, this was actually painful to read. I will never, ever read anything written by this guy (who I was convinced was a woman, because I’m not good at checking these things) again.
  • a book published before you were born
    • Knockdown – Dick Francis. I re-read this earlier this year after a discussion with my dad. The main character has an easily dislocated shoulder, which is also true of my dad, so I’ve always associated it with him.
  • a book that was banned at some point
  • a book you previously abandoned
    • I’ve created a new ‘abandoned’ shelf on Goodreads, which has two books languishing on it. Hopefully one of these will make it onto this list!
  • a book you own but have never read
  • a book that intimidates you
    • I’m hoping that A Game of Thrones will fill this spot. I’ve been meaning to read it since I gave it to my sister for her birthday, three or four years ago, but it’s just too much of an undertaking!
  • a book you’ve already read at least once
    • So many books could fulfil this. We’ll go with the first ten Princess Diaries books, which I mentioned in my January/February roundup.

      Seven out of twelve categories ticked off, and we’re on month nine of the year now. I’m falling behind. I’ll need to do some thinking about what to fill in the other sections with – time is running short!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “Modern Mrs Darcy Update

  1. Pingback: A Game of Thrones – George RR Martin | Much Ado About Books

  2. Pingback: Candide – Voltaire | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

