September Round-Up

 

 

It’s hard to believe it’s the end of September already. It seems to have really flown in, but at the same time it doesn’t feel like I’ve done anything. After completing the ReadingforGold challenge and reading ten books in ten days, I then got hit with an attack of reading fatigue, so the second half of the month has been very slow. On top of that, starting a new job has completely wiped out all of my energy, so I just haven’t been reading half as much as usual. I’m also getting up too early in the mornings for my brain to be in gear, so I’ve lost reading time on my morning commute as well.  I think I’ve read fewer books this month than any other month so far this year, at just fourteen. All of that combined to make for a quiet month of September, but I still had a few fun things in there.

Books

  1. Crown of Midnight – Sarah J Maas
  2. Moth Girls – Anne Cassidy
  3. Daughter of Smoke and Bone – Laini Taylor
  4. Heir of Fire – Sarah J Maas
  5. The Taggerung – Brian Jacques
  6. Queen of Shadows – Sarah J Maas
  7. Empire of Storms – Sarah J Maas
  8. Every Day – David Levithan
  9. Another Day – David Levithan
  10. Since You’ve Been Gone – Morgan Matson
  11. The Lost Child – Caryl Philips
  12. Triss – Brian Jacques
  13. A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J Maas
  14. My Mother’s Secret – Sheila O’Flanagan

 

Short Stories

I actually didn’t read any short stories this month. Not even a one. That’s pretty unusual, but I guess it had to happen some time.

Cover Art

Favourite Book This Month

I think my favourite book this month, even though it maybe wasn’t the best book I read this month, was Empire of Storms, simply because I was so excited about it coming out. I was looking forward to it for basically an entire year, since I finished Queen of Shadows last year. I’m now eagerly anticipating the arrival of the sixth book in the series, even though we don’t yet have a title, or cover art or, in fact, anything. I’m tiding myself over by reading A Court of Thorns and Roses this month, and I’ll read A Court of Mist and Fury hopefully next month.

Least Favourite Book This Month

This category is a new arrival just for this month, because I cannot stress enough how much I hated The Lost Child. I don’t think there’s anything else in my GoodReads library that has as low a rating, nor that I was left with such fury in my heart after having finished it. I don’t know if this category will make it into the October round-up, but I just wanted to make it very, very clear that I really, really hated that book. Like really hated it. Hated it with a fury.

Favourite Cover This Month

Having read a whole bunch of the Throne of Glass series this month, the mosaic of cover art above is very white. Looking at the whole series on a shelf together, it looks great! Plus, the covers for Every Day and Another Day are really cool next to each other as well, with their little figures made out of words. But my favourite cover this month has to go to Triss. I love the colours of it, the purple sail of the ship, the freedom of Triss and Shogg sailing their way to emancipation, and the movement of the ship. All in all, I’m a big fan of that cover, so even though I’ve owned the book for years, it still gets this month’s accolade.

Other Thoughts

Reading Triss brought me almost up to date on my Redwall Reread. Although I’ve also read High Rhulain, that’s not the next book chronologically, so when I read my next Redwall book, it’ll be a totally new experience. I’m kind of excited for that, because it’s been a long time since I read a new Redwall book, and I’m wondering if it’ll be as fresh and exciting as it was the last few times.

Also, in last month’s Round-Up, I was pretty convinced that I was going to reread the rest of the Old Kingdom books in preparation for the publication of Goldenhand. I actually haven’t managed to do that, so it’ll get passed over to October.

Finally, I’ve been slogging my way through A Game of Thrones this week, because it’s going to fill a category on my Modern Mrs Darcy challenge. I’m not sure if I’m enjoying it – it’s quite a slog, and there are so many characters to keep straight in my head. I suspect it’ll take me a long time to get through the whole of A Song of Ice and Fire – maybe not even by the time the sixth book is published!

Hopefully in October I’ll be less tired, so I’ll be able to both read more and blog more, but who knows how the future will go!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

