The Book Parcel Mystery

CpA3Jj3VYAEu26gSo this week is publication week for Goldenhand which, if you haven’t realised that I’m super excited about it, I really don’t know what you’ve been reading. I’ve been very clear that I love Garth Nix, I love the Old Kingdom, and I loved Goldenhand.

I preordered the hardback on Amazon, and was expecting it to arrive this week, since publication day was the 4th, which was Tuesday.

On Monday, when I got home, there was a missed parcel slip from the Post Office. I assumed that this was Goldenhand, and it had just arrived a day early, so didn’t worry too much about it. My mum very kindly said that she’d pick it up from the sorting office for me when she got a chance, so I went on my merry way to work, excited to think about this Goldenhand parcel waiting for me when I get home.

A few days passed, and yesterday when I was at home, there was an Amazon package waiting for me. I opened it up and it was, indeed, Goldenhand, and it’s absolutely beautiful. The spot laminated Charter Marks on the cover catch the light and the Free Magic mark on the cover positively jumps out at you. I haven’t yet put all my Old Kingdom books together (partially because my copy of Sabriel is in Ireland with my sister) but it’s gonna look great, I can just feel it.

img-20161007-wa0001But here’s the funny thing. When I thanked my mum for picking up my parcel, she hadn’t done it yet. What I had assumed the parcel was (Goldenhand) was not, in fact, what was waiting for me.

I’m now at work, it’s lunchtime on a Friday, and my mum has since collected my parcel. It’s from Bonnier publishers (the company who published Goldenhand) and it’s wrapped in a gold envelope, but I have no idea what it is, and I’m positively seething with curiosity. It’s something book-related, I know it is, but WHAT IS IT?

 

Guesses welcome in the comments!!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “The Book Parcel Mystery

  1. Pingback: The Book Parcel Solution | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

