The Book Parcel Solution

So after I wrote and published Monday’s blog post, I realised that I had totally left it hanging about what was in the golden package that was in my house last week and I was chatting about last Friday.

After writing the blog post, I also tweeted about it, because I really was itching to see what was inside the parcel, and I was intensely frustrated that I wasn’t going to be home for several hours.

Hot Key replied with a mysterious tweet that seemed to indicate this might, in fact be something related to what I thought it was in the first place – that is to say, Goldenhand, my absolute favourite book this year.

So when I got home, I was absolutely over the moon delighted to see that, in fact, I was lucky enough to win a special super-limited signed edition of Goldenhand, and that was what was in that beautiful golden package that was waiting for me last week.

Garth Nix and Hot Key Books had been tweeting about these golden editions for months, and although I was filled with longing for one, I never thought that I’d be lucky enough to get my hands on one of them.

So when I opened up that package last week, to see a super-limited edition (only 110!) of my favourite author’s newest book, I was pretty dang excited.

Some might say that having three copies of the same book is excessive, but would really disagree. I’m not even sure it’s quite enough. And only two of them are signed (so far!) so really, my Goldenhand adventure is only just beginning.

I’m also super delighted that my copy of this super-proof is #13 (my lucky number!). A lucky coincidence, one might say. Or unlucky, I guess, since it’s 13.

So now I just need to look forward to next week, when Garth Nix and other authors (Laure Eve, Alwyn Hamilton, Melinda Salisbury and Paul Magrs) are speaking at Waterstones Piccadilly, and I will be in my element!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

