How to Cure a Reading Slump

17927395I’ve found myself in a bit of a book slump in the last while. Perhaps it’s my new job changing the routine of my days, or the fact that I’ve had less time to myself to read, or that I’ve got more going on in my life now than I did a while ago, but I’m not getting through as many books as I would have before. On the tube in the mornings I’m too tired to read, and in the evenings I don’t get a seat, so it’s harder to read then. Plus I’m going to bed earlier and I don’t have the same amount of time to read at night – and then there’s just my mood. Half the time I don’t want to pick up whatever book I’ve got going on. Currently it’s two books – A Court of Mist and Fury, by Sarah J Maas, and The Missing Wife, by Sheila O’Flanagan, but I have to really push myself to actually pick either of them up and get through a few chapters.

So given that I’m struggling through the middle of a book slump, I tried looking up a few ways to cure a book slump. Unfortunately, I haven’t been having much success! There are a few more I’ll have to try next, and see if they help.

Try YA31567282

This one was definitely not the best tip for me to break a reading slump, since I read almost all YA. Not a winner of a tip here. So I moved on to another, which was:

Change Genre

This was a variant on Try YA, since I read almost all YA. That’s what The Missing Wife is. A thriller/women’s fiction book to change things up a bit. Hasn’t worked. I’m just glaring at it in resentment, not wanting to read it.

Compare and contrast

The recommendation here was to watch something and read it as well, to compare. Well I read A Game of Thrones, really slogged through it, and am now watching the TV series (I know, I must be one of the only people on the planet who hasn’t been watching it for years), but I’m not loving it. I didn’t love the book either. Humph.

26699583Find a friend

A few lists suggested that I should let someone else pick what I should read next. Tried that, too. Sally recommended The Call, by Peadar Ó Guilín to me, and although it was okay, I wasn’t gripped by it. It was good, but not great, and I didn’t really feel compelled to pick it up.

Don’t book-hop

Okay, guilty. I read several books at the same time, and sometimes don’t really connect to any of them. I’m trying to focus just on ACOMAF at the moment, and let Sheila O’Flanagan slide, but then I wonder what’s happening in The Missing Wife, and get resentful of both books. I’ll have to try harder at this.

Timetable it in

On the face of it, you would think that this is easy. I travel to work on the train, so it should be simple to fit in reading time, but I’ve found in the last while that I don’t feel like pulling out my kindle when I’m on the tube because I’m busy trying to cram myself into the smallest possible space without getting my toes trodden on. Maybe I need to try scheduling some reading time elsewhere.

So then the ones I haven’t tried that I’ll give a go in the future:

Read a bestseller

The current #1 Bestseller on the NYT list is The Girl on the Train, which I’ve already read, but I’ll pick something up off the bestsellers list soon and see if that catches my fancy. I might even combine it with…

Be the Book

Visiting a bookstore or library featured on lots of lists, as it can help you to find new things that you might not have otherwise picked up, and your enthusiasm might increase when you get to inhale that delicious new book smell. Plus there will be friendly booksellers and librarians who might give recommendations as to what might pull you out of the slump!

Break it down6421982

If reading a full novel is getting to you, maybe try switching it up with some short stories or graphic novels. Something with a smaller goal might help to motivate you a bit more to get out of that slump.

Listen up!

In the interests of switching things up, try listening to an audiobook. Audible offers a free audiobook when you sign up for membership. I’ve never really gotten the appeal of audiobooks, because I feel like I need to be doing something when I’m listening, but maybe it’ll be the thing that helps me get out of this reading pit!

Reread a favourite

When all else fails… go back to the classics. Read the books which never fail to comfort you. The ones you love to love. The ones that made you fall in love with reading. There’s nothing like going back to an old favourite to remind you why you love to read.

And if all else fails…?

Forget about it

So what? You don’t read for a while. It’s not the end of the world. There are plenty of other ways to entertain yourself, and the books will still be there in the future when you feel more like reading again. Don’t beat yourself up about it. These things happen!

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “How to Cure a Reading Slump

  1. Pingback: The Call – Peadar Ó Guiliín | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

