October Round-Up

Happy Hallowe’en guys! It can’t already be the last day of October. I only just posted about it being the end of September!

This month has been another slow one – I’m really in a slump at the moment, and not feeling the desire to read at all times of night and day, so I actually read only eight books this month. And I thought last month was bad!

I’m not sure what the root cause of this slump is, although I have some pretty solid suspicions, but I don’t think there’s very much I can do except wait it out, really.

Books

  1. A Game of Thrones – George RR Martin
  2. Loamhedge – Brian Jacques
  3. The Call – Peadar Ó Guilín
  4. It’s All About Him – Colette Caddle
  5. Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo
  6. A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J Maas
  7. A Most Magical Girl – Karen Foxlee
  8. Afterworlds – Scott Westerfeld

 

Short Stories

I actually didn’t read any short stories this month. Not even a one. For the second month in a row! I said last month it was unusual, but for two months in a row, was even stranger.

Cover Art

 

Favourite Book This Month

My favourite book this month was definitely Six of Crows. I liked it a lot, although I was disappointed in how it ended on such a cliffhanger. I’ve picked up Crooked Kingdom, but I don’t seem to be able to find the motivation to read anything at the moment, so I haven’t really worked myself up to picking it up.

I said in my review that Six of Crows is leagues ahead of the Grisha Trilogy, and I stand by that. I’m hoping Crooked Kingdom keeps up that standard.

Least Favourite Book This Month

Nothing this month ignited my fury like The Lost Child did last month, so this category is being let slide.

Favourite Cover This Month

I didn’t realise over the course of the month as I read them, but collected together, this month’s covers are very dark. A lot of black, grey, and navy, and just that one bright spot in the form of the Colette Caddle book. It doesn’t come across all that well in the mosaic above, but the cover for A Most Magical Girl is really beautiful, with little stars which catch the light when you shift the book, so it definitely wins for this month.

Other Thoughts

Loamhedge was the first new Redwall book I’ve read in a very long time, and I quite enjoyed it. I think it stands up well with the rest of the series, and that they really are very good books, not just that I’m looking back at them with rose-tinted glasses.

I still haven’t managed to pick up the Old Kingdom series again (although I did win another copy of Goldenhand at an event last week, bringing my total to 4 different signed editions), so that’s passed off to next month again.

I’m currently slogging my way through A Clash of Kings, and not really enjoying it either, although after all the hours I devoted to A Game of Thrones, I have most of the characters straight in my head, I think.

October’s been a really poor month for reading, even worse than September was. Who knows how much longer this slump will go on for. Perhaps I’ll never get back to my usual reading habits!

I think that’s unlikely, though.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

