GoodReads Choice Awards

Every year, GoodReads open up their Choice awards for Goodreads users to decide what they think are the best books of the year.

There are twenty categories and three rounds, and voting lasts all month, but the first round is open now.

I haven’t read books in every category, but here are my picks for things I think should definitely win awards:

Best Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction

A-Torch-Against-The-Night-TahirA Torch Against The Night

I LOVED this book. It was one of my favourite things from YALC this year, and I definitely feel like it deserves accolades. Returning to the Empire as Laia and Elias try to escape the power and threat of the new Emperor and his Blood Shrike.

Best Debut Goodreads Author

25950053The Girl From Everywhere

Heidi Heilig’s Hawaiian time travel pirate adventure swept me up and taught me that this unexpectedly wonderful book was everything I was looking for and didn’t even know I wanted.

Best Young Adult Fiction

24529123This Is Where It Ends

It’s been so long since I read this book that it almost doesn’t feel like it was a 2016 release, but this beautiful, moving depiction of a school shooting as it happens absolutely swept me up and left me reeling at the end of its gorgeously depicted and tragically beautiful portrayal of the loves and losses of a diverse group of American teenagers.

These are just my picks for the Goodreads awards, but obviously everyone would have their own ideas. So I can only encourage you to head over to their site and vote for recognition for the books you feel deserve it!

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “GoodReads Choice Awards

  1. Pingback: Crooked Kingdom – Leigh Bardugo | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

