To-Do List for the Rest of 2016

Now that we’re midway through November, I need to start looking at the challenges I set myself for the year, and what I want to get finished before the end of the year.

I’ve completed my GoodReads challenge, which was set at 100 books, quite a long time ago actually. I’m currently on 178 books for the year, so I’m hoping to hit 200 by the end of the year, but I won’t worry too much about it.

The Modern Mrs Darcy challenge, which I posted about a few times already this year, has started flagging in the last few months. I’ve still got four categories to check off:

  • a book you should have read in school
    • I don’t know HOW I’m going to do this one, considering I read everything I could find. I suppose I could re-read one of my assigned texts from Uni… I’ll consider this one..
  • a book that was banned at some point
  • a book you previously abandoned
    • It’s been several months, so those abandoned books are looking all the more abandoned now. I’m gonna have to pick one up soon. One of the abandoned books was abandoned because it’s in my sister’s house in Ireland, but I’m visiting next week, so maybe I’ll pick it up then.
  • a book you own but have never read
    • This is still looming large also.

 

Even worse than the Modern Mrs Darcy challenge is the PopSugar challenge. I’m flagging badly on that one, and I have loads of categories still to fill:

  • A book that’s becoming a movie this year
    • I went with Room for this one. Although, after writing it down on the page, I suspect that Room might actually have been released in 2015. I’ll have to consider whether or not this counts. It is subject to change.
    • I still haven’t decided if Room fits in this category, so I’m marking it up as still to be done, if I can find a better book to fit this category.
  • A murder mystery
    • Although I put Local Girl Missing in here, I’m still not sure it counts, so it’s staying on my to-do list.
  • A National Book Award winner
  • A book recommended by someone you just met
  • A self-improvement book
  • A political memoir
  • A book at least 100 years older than you
  • A book from Oprah’s book club
  • A science-fiction novel
  • The first book you see in a bookstore
  • A classic from the 20th century
  • A book from the library
  • An autobiography
  • A satirical book

That’s eighteen different categories I still have to fill over the two challenges! I really need to get cracking on these!

As well as that, I still have loads of books I want to read that I’ve picked up over the year. Hollowgirl, by Sean Williams, has been sitting at the top of my pile for ages. Haunt Me, by Liz Kessler, and Caraval, by Stephanie Gerber, are taunting me. The Versions of Us is sitting in my bedside locker, looking accusingly at me for not having read it yet. I want to get in at least one more of A Song of Ice and Fire before the end of the year, and The Graces and Rebel of the Sands are high up there too. So many books. Only six weeks until the end of the year! I won’t have time to do anything but read between now and Christmas. If I don’t get anyone any Christmas presents, this will have been why!

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “To-Do List for the Rest of 2016

  1. Pingback: PopSugar Reading Challenge 2016 | Much Ado About Books

  2. Pingback: Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

