PopSugar Reading Challenge 2016

20e491b890bb19b9_PS15_Love_2016ReadingChallenge_Pin_List

I realised midway through last week, after I posted my To-Do List for the rest of 2016, that I haven’t actually posted an update on how my PopSugar Reading Challenge 2016 is doing in ages. So that’s what I’ve decided to do today, and I can see how well I’m getting on, and how many categories I still have left to complete!

Anything that was discussed in my first post is just crossed off. Anything new I’ve put a little comment on!

  • A book based on a fairy tale
  • A National Book Award winner
    • Errrr… dunno what’s going in here.
  • A YA bestseller
  • A book you haven’t read since high school
    • I decided to fill this in with The Princess Diaries (possibly the fourth or fifth one) because I know I only read them once before, and I think it was when I was in high school.
  • A book set in your home state
  • A book translated to English
    • I re-read The Night Watch earlier this year. Sergei Lukanyenko’s series about vampires and other magicians in Russia has a new instalment out this year, which may well fulfil another category for me soon! It’s translated from Russian to English, and I love the whole series.
  • A romance set in the future
  • A book set in Europe
  • A book that’s under 150 pages
  • A New York Times bestseller
  • A book that’s becoming a movie this year
  • A book recommended by someone you just met
  • A self-improvement book
    • Bleh. No idea how to do this one. Not a category I’m fond of. This might be one I don’t manage.
  • A book you can finish in a day10572
  • A book written by a celebrity
  • A political memoir
    • Another one I’m pondering unhappily.
  • A book at least 100 years older than you
    • Currently working on this by reading Little Women. I am entirely unsure whether I am reading or re-reading this book. It all seems very familiar, but not quite familiar enough. It’s hampered by the fact that I’ve seen stage and screen versions of it too, so I really am confused by whether or not I’ve read this.
  • A book that’s more than 600 pages
    • I think I had Winter on here originally, but that’s also in the prequel category, so I’m replacing it with A Clash of Kings
  • A book from Oprah’s Book Club
    • Nothing in this appeals to me. I’ll pick something eventually!
  • A science-fiction novel
    • Hollowgirl is sitting in my to-read pile, and I will get around to it eventually!
  • A book recommended by a family member
  • A graphic novel
    • 28588125I love the follow-up graphic novels to Avatar: The Last Airbender, and read Smoke and Shadow earlier this year. This is in spite of the fact that graphic novels are really not a medium that appeals to me.
    • This is possibly a lot to do with the fact that I actually just really loved Avatar the Last Airbender as a series, and will actually lap up anything which continues in that world. See, for example, my rabid consumption of The Legend of Korra, which I watched obsessively as it came out, and the fact that I’m desperately impatient for the follow-up graphic novels of Korra to come out next year also. I wish I lived in a bending universe.
    • =(
  • A book that is published in 2016
  • A book with a protagonist who has your occupation
  • A book that takes place during Summer
  • A book and its prequel
  • A murder mystery
  • A book written by a comedian
  • A dystopian novel
  • A book with a blue cover
  • A book of poetry
    • One is written in free verse. That counts, right?AN78152238One
  • The first book you see in a bookstore
    • I’m gonna get this one done soon. I’m walking into a bookstore this weekend, hopefully, and picking something.
  • A classic from the 20th century
    • Currently frantically googling lists of 20th century classics. No idea what to do with this one!
  • A book from the library
    • I really need to visit my local library!
  • An autobiography
    • Ugh. Not excited about this at all.
  • A book about a road trip
  • A book about a culture you’re unfamiliar with
    • Hopefully I’m gonna fill this category with The Sixth Watch, the newest of Lukanyenko’s Watch books, but if I don’t get that done, I’ll replace it with Afterworlds, which is about an American Gujarati girl living in New York. Despite my sister-in-law being Gujarati, I know very little about the culture. So I count this one as half done.
  • A satirical book
    • I don’t really know what counts as a satirical book, so this will require some further googling as well before I decide whether or not I can cross this off.
  • A book that takes place on an island
  • A book that’s guaranteed to bring you joy

25950053Given that it’s very nearly the end of November, I really need to pull my socks up and get cracking on the harder categories in this challenge. I’m currently slogging through Little Women, but I need to start lining up books to fulfil the other categories because for a lot of them I have absolutely no idea what’s going in there.

Lots to do still before the end of the year!

6 Comments

Filed under Books

6 responses to “PopSugar Reading Challenge 2016

  1. Pingback: Little Women – Louisa May Alcott | Much Ado About Books

  2. Pingback: Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton | Much Ado About Books

  3. Pingback: Hollowgirl – Sean Williams | Much Ado About Books

  4. Pingback: Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them | Much Ado About Books

  5. Pingback: Catch-22 – Joseph Heller | Much Ado About Books

  6. Pingback: PopSugar Reading Challenge 2016 | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

