November Round-Up

November has been a pretty packed month, with the reignition of my social life, a speedy and packed trip home, and a lot of work to be done. I’ve somewhat reignited my passion for reading, but not entirely, and read 12 books this month (although I’m not sure Fantastic Beasts really counts as a whole book), which is a 50% improvement on how dismal last month was. There were a few interesting ones in here, and a few challenge criteria fulfilled too, since I’ve very little time left to tick things off those lists!

Books

  1. The Missing Wife – Sheila O’Flanagan
  2. Lost Stars – Lisa Selin Davis
  3. Trouble Makes A Comeback – Stephanie Tromly
  4. A Clash of Kings – George RR Martin
  5. Three Truths and a Lie – Brent Hartinger
  6. A Diamond From Tiffany’s – Melissa Hill
  7. Crooked Kingdom – Leigh Bardugo
  8. A Walk in the Park – Jill Mansell
  9. Little Women – Louisa May Alcott (??? Don’t know whether or not to *)
  10. Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton
  11. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Newt Scamander
  12. Good Wives – Louisa May Alcott

 

Short Stories

Apparently, I have abandoned my desire to read short stories.

I will admit that one of the books I read this month – A Diamond From Tiffany’s – was actually a collection of short stories, but I didn’t really mean to read it because it was short stories. In fact, when I bought it, I didn’t know it was short stories at all. I’m just dumb, I guess.

Cover Art

 

Favourite Book This Month

Crooked Kingdom was far and away my favourite book this month. It followed on from where Six of Crows left off, and wrapped the duology up beautifully. I was blown away with how good it was.

Least Favourite Book This Month

Although I wasn’t furious at it, I didn’t particularly enjoy Good Wives. In fact, I don’t think I really enjoyed Good Wives at all. All the spirit that infused Little Women was gone, and I was left with a feeling of being preached at, about how women should settle down and find a man, serve God, and pop out children. Not a fan of that message!

Favourite Cover This Month

Although the book itself wasn’t exactly up to much, A Diamond From Tiffany’s has a great cover – that snow, that New York skyline, the happy couple in the centre!

This month’s books look much more cheerful than last month’s, which I think is a good sign, too!

Other Thoughts

Although there’s been something of a recovery from my reading slump, much like everything in my life, it’s been slow, and I’m certainly not back to normal yet. With only a month left this year, I’m going to have to start combining categories to fulfil the challenge criteria, and I’m definitely not certain that I’ll hit my new (although not strict) target of 200 books for the year. I guess with how much I read in the first half of the year, whatever happened in the second half was going to be a struggle, but at least it does feel like I’m on the road to recovery here, and I enjoyed reading a lot more this month than in the last few months. I also managed to not only read a book that’s becoming a film this year (Fantastic Beasts) but also watch the film of it (which was excellent), so that’s another little tick off my list.

Today being the second, there are 29 days left in the month. That’s hopefully enough to finish at least the Modern Mrs Darcy challenge, if not the PopSugar one as well. It’s going to be down to the wire, though.

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “November Round-Up

  1. Pingback: December Round-Up | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

