Modern Mrs Darcy Challenge 2016

MMD-2016-Reading-ChallengeIt’s mid-December, and I really took it to the wire, but I’ve finished this year’s Modern Mrs Darcy challenge and ticked off all twelve categories. Although I didn’t start out with the aim of filling any categories, by the end of the year, I had to carefully pick books which would tick off those last few elusive ones, and push me over the finish line, but I managed it. When I read them, it wasn’t actually twelve different books, but I’ve shuffled things around a little so there are twelve individual entries on this list. The joy of hindsight!

Today’s post is a reference post, mostly, so that I can refer back to the full list and reassure myself that I am capable of fulfilling one of the two challenges I set myself this year!

  • a book published this year
    • Alternates: Trouble Makes A Comeback, Goldenhand, Our Chemical Hearts, Lost Stars, Crooked Kingdom, Stealing Snow, Empire of Storms, A Torch Against The Night, The Call, Royal Tour, A Most Magical Girl, Three Truths and a Lie, The Yellow Room, Truly Madly Guilty, Nothing Tastes As Good, The Memory Book, The Missing Wife, With Malice, London Belongs To Us, Sing, Royal Wedding Disaster, The Crown, The Unexpected Everything, The Hidden Oracle, A Court of Mist and Fury, I Know What I’m Doing, Holding Up The Universe, The Winner’s Kiss, Flawed, Rebel of the Sands, Lady Midnight, Try Not To Breathe, Thirteen Minutes, The Girl From Everywhere, Glass Sword, Stars Above, Night Study, What Remains of Me.
  • a book you can finish in a day
    • Hired Bride – Noelle Adams: this was free on iBooks, and I devoured it one day in early January. A light, fluffy, Mills&Boon-type romance which did exactly what I expected by keeping me entertained during the Christmas holidays.
    • Alternates: The Substitute Bride, His Defiant Princess, The Wedding Gift, Marrying Mr Perfect, Chasing Jane, Here With You, Let Love In, Royal Wedding Disaster, Make-Believe Wedding, Bride By Mistake, A Negotiated Marriage, What A Bride Wants, Too Charming, Wait for Me, Our Chemical Hearts, Ring of Truth, The Fairy Tale Bride.
  • a book you’ve been meaning to read
    • Alternates: Vanishing Girls, A Game of Thrones, One, Finding Audrey, Step Back in Time, Flawed, Hollowgirl.
  • a book recommended by your local librarian or bookseller
    • Recommended by a (not quite local) librarian.
    •  

    • Alternates: Rebel of the Sands, The Grisha Trilogy, Six of Crows, Crooked Kingdom, Daughter of Smoke and Bone.
  • a book you should have read in school
  • a book chosen for you by your spouse, partner, sibling, child, or BFF
    • Alternates: I Know What I’m Doing, Vanishing Girls, 13 Minutes, Nothing Tastes As Good, The Rest Of Us Just Live Here, Everything Everything, Brooklyn
  • a book published before you were born
    • Knockdown – Dick Francis. I re-read this earlier this year after a discussion with my dad. The main character has an easily dislocated shoulder, which is also true of my dad, so I’ve always associated it with him.
    • Alternates: Candide, Catch-22, Little Women, Good Wives.
  • a book that was banned at some point
    • Alternate: Catch-22
  • a book you previously abandoned
    • Alternate: Candide, although I’m not entirely sure that would count, because I read about three pages of it.
  • a book you own but have never read
    • Alternate: Candide.
  • a book that intimidates you
    • Alternates: Hollowgirl, for its ~science-ness~, and Candide, because it was in French.
  • a book you’ve already read at least once
    • Alternates: Fallen, Dead Heat, Knockdown, The Named, The Dark, The Key, Eragon, Feeling Sorry for Celia, Finding Cassie Crazy, Becoming Bindy Mackenzie, Dreaming of Amelia, Sabriel, Outcast of Redwall, The Pearls of Lutra, The Long Patrol, The Legend of Luke, Marlfox, Taggerung, Triss, The Night Watch, My Sister’s Keeper, Throne of Glass, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, The Assassin’s Blade, Crown of Midnight, Every Day, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.
  • Candide and Catch-22 are filling three categories between the two of them. I will try to read another banned/abandoned book before the end of the year so that I can have twelve books on this list, but I’m not sure how successful I will be, since I still have categories to fill on the PopSugar challenge!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “Modern Mrs Darcy Challenge 2016

  1. Pingback: Best Books of 2016 | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

