The Good Girlfriend’s Guide to Getting Even

31423831You know when you’re browsing and something catches your eye, and you think ‘Oooh! I like the look of that!’. That’s what this book was. This was a NetGalley ARC from Zaffre, the parent company of Hot Key, my favourite YA publisher that I downloaded on a whim, because I liked the cover, the blurb, and the recommendation that said it was perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella (who is incredibly funny, and whose YA book Finding Audrey I really liked)

The Good Girlfriend’s Guide to Getting Even – Anna Bell

‘Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella’. Another hilarious and heart-warming romantic comedy from bestselling author Anna Bell

When Lexi’s sport-mad boyfriend Will skips her friend’s wedding to watch football – after pretending to have food poisoning – it might just be the final whistle for their relationship.

But fed up of just getting mad, Lexi decides to even the score. And, when a couple of lost tickets and an ‘accidentally’ broken television lead to them spending extra time together, she’s delighted to realise that revenge might be the best thing that’s happened to their relationship.

And if her clever acts of sabotage prove to be a popular subject for her blog, what harm can that do? It’s not as if he’ll ever find out . . .

See what people are already saying about the queen of romantic comedy, Anna Bell…

A fun, bouncy, brilliant tale’ Heat

Funny, relatable and fabulously writtenDaily Express

Perfect for fans of Sophie KinsellaTake a Break

While on the surface it seemed like this was the kind of light and fluffy chick-lit that I would really enjoy, the underlying romance of this book is somewhat spoiled by the petty behaviour and distinct unlikeability of the two main characters.
The basic premise of this book rankled with me – Lexi’s campaign for revenge against her boyfriend for skipping out on her best friend’s wedding was a childish reaction to some pretty awful behaviour on her boyfriend’s part, and the big reveal at the end of *why* he skipped out on that wedding was both sexist and stretched the bounds of believability.

While on the whole I actually enjoyed this book, and trotted through it in a single day, with a good few smiles and laughs along the way, there are much better books out there which don’t rely on exaggerated caricatures of characters or outdated sexist traditions. I have no issue with a book built around a relationship suffering from a failure to communicate, but this book, I felt, pushed it a bit too far. While I did enjoy it, I wouldn’t really recommend it – I think there are much better books out there.

Three stars
***

Advertisements

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “The Good Girlfriend’s Guide to Getting Even

  1. Pingback: January Round-Up | Much Ado About Books

  2. Pingback: Challenge Update – One Quarter Through | Much Ado About Books

  3. Pingback: Challenge Update – September 2017 | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s