January Round-Up

One month done already! We’re a twelfth of the way through the year and I can’t believe it. I still haven’t managed to stop writing 2016 instead of 2017, and now I’m going to have to start remembering to write 2 instead of 1 for the month. I can’t cope with this at all, why does time pass?

First month of the year has gone pretty well – I’ve read 14 books and no short stories. Given that it’s been almost six months now since I read any short stories, I’ve decided to eliminate it from the round-up as a permanent feature. If I do read any short stories in a specific month, I’ll reinstate it for then. Even still, I’ve read a good spread of genres and styles, a lot of female authors, children’s, YA, and adult books, (not adult in that sense, though), romance, fantasy, crime, and two retellings of classics – Peter Pan and Snow White. I’m pretty happy with how my year has started out!

Books

  1. The CEO – Victoria Purman
  2. I’ll Be Home For Christmas – Roisin Meaney
  3. Three Dark Crowns – Kendare Blake
  4. The Good Girlfriend’s Guide to Getting Even – Anna Bell
  5. It Ends With Us – Colleen Hoover
  6. The Diabolic – SJ Kincaid
  7. A Storm of Swords – George RR Martin
  8. Second Star – Alyssa B Sheinmel
  9. A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness
  10. I Heart Christmas – Lindsey Kelk
  11. Alanna: The First Adventure – Tamora Pierce
  12. Eyes Like Mine – Sheena Kamal
  13. The Shadow Queen – CJ Redwine
  14. Rakkety Tam – Brian Jacques

Cover Art

Favourite Book This Month

This is a tough one, because I really liked a lot of the books I read this month. A Storm of Swords actually taught me why people like A Song of Ice and Fire, which was good going, as I really plodded through the previous two. Eyes Like Mine was dark and tense and twisted, in a good way, and It Ends With Us was moving in a way that I absolutely didn’t expect.

My winner this month, though, has to actually go to Patrick Ness, in a surprising twist. I thought his other books were good but not great, but A Monster Calls hit all the right notes for me, and was my favourite book of January.

Least Favourite Book This Month

Easy choice this month, I really didn’t get on with I Heart Christmas – the middle of a series, unbelievably overdramatic and just not a book I would recommend.

Favourite Cover This Month

Although lots of the covers of books I read this month were great (It Ends With Us, Rakkety Tam, A Monster Calls all being sterling offerings), I very quickly had it narrowed down so it was really between only two. The Shadow Queen wasn’t fantastic, but had a really fabulous cover, and I LOVED The Diabolic’s razor butterfly wings, so I was torn between the two of them, especially with the contrast against the white backgrounds of both.

In the end, though, this one had to go to The Diabolic, with the contrast between the soft butterfly wings on top and those deadly weapons on the bottom encompassing Nemesis’s deadly nature and her devotion to Sidonia.

Other Thoughts

I read two books this month with authors who go by double initials instead of a first name.

I think it’s because of JK Rowling and KA Applegate, who I read a lot of when I was small, who are both women writers, but when I see an author with a double initial, I always assume it’s a woman. Having googled, both this month’s double initialled authors are also women. It’s funny, that JK Rowling took on the double initial to slightly disguise the fact that she was a female author, but that’s actually my assumption. When I realised that SJ Watson, who wrote Before I Go To Sleep, was a man, I was pretty surprised. Funny that. Almost the opposite of the intention.

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “January Round-Up

  1. Pingback: February Round-Up | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

