February Round-Up

It’s the first of March and seriously, I don’t understand where this year is going. I know that February is the shortest month of the year, but it does NOT feel like four weeks since I was summing up my January reading, and I swear Christmas was just last week.

After going on about knocking the short story category out of the roundup last month, I did actually read one this month (in fact, I read four, since Sir Hereward was a collection of three short stories), so it’s back in. Not a bad month, not as good as last month, but some fun ones in there.

Books

  1. In the Hand of the Goddess – Tamora Pierce
  2. He Said/She Said – Erin Kelly
  3. Dawn Study – Maria V Snyder
  4. Ariadnis – Josh Martin
  5. A Feast for Crows – George RR Martin
  6. Frogkisser! – Garth Nix
  7. The Woman Who Rides Like A Man – Tamora Pierce
  8. Confess – Colleen Hoover
  9. The Longest Holiday – Paige Toon
  10. The Wrath and the Dawn – Renee Ahdieh
  11. Who’s That Girl? – Mhairí McFarlane

Short Stories

  1. Shattered Glass – Maria V Snyder
  2. Sir Hereward and Mister Fitz: Three Adventures

Cover Art

 

Favourite Book This Month

This was a month with a new Garth Nix book. Let’s be real. That’s obviously going to be my favourite. My review of it should be up later this week, but for the moment, let me just state that this is probably one of my favourite fairytales ever.
Surprisingly, I actually wasn’t all that taken with Sir Hereward and Mister Fitz, despite that also being a Nix offering.

Least Favourite Book This Month

A Feast For Crows, after how impressed I was with A Storm of Swords last month, was a massive, massive disappointment. I’ve heard that A Dance With Dragons is better, and I should really hope so, because I found Feast really quite trying.

Favourite Cover This Month

Lots of good covers this month, but I think the winner has to be Ariadnis – although I wasn’t all that impressed with the book itself, the cover, with its swirling magic and atmospheric owl, was a standout beauty among this month’s art.

Incidentally, this month’s covers seem to have a strong tendency towards being quite dark. Funny how that happens.

Other Thoughts

Two Tamora Pierce books this month, and I really don’t think I’m impressed at all. Perhaps the Song of the Lioness is the weakest of Pierce’s offerings, but I definitely wouldn’t put her in my top-ranked authors going by the three I’ve read so far.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

