Confess – Colleen Hoover

After I was so impressed with It Ends With Us, I immediately went onto Amazon and bought another Hoover novel, as well as a novella. However, it took me much longer than I anticipated to actually get around to reading either of them.

Last week, I worked my way through Confess, relatively quickly. Over the course of a day and a half, I made my way into Owen and Auburn’s world, discovered their relationship and left it again. And, honestly, this wasn’t a patch on It Ends With Us.

Confess – Colleen Hoover

22609310Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

There were some nice things in this book – Auburn is a strong character with some very obvious and endearing vulnerabilities, who makes good and bad choices but always with the aim of things working out in the end.

There was just something about this book that didn’t click for me. Owen and Auburn hadn’t known each other long enough, or well enough, for the magnitude of feelings that seems to develop between them. Auburn has too much to lose to throw things away for the sake of a guy she had only just met, and yet it seems like their relationship is the biggest driving force in her life (or almost is) despite the issues it throws up for other parts of her life.

While this wasn’t a terrible book, and I don’t think I could find anything really wrong with it (apart from some slut-shaming as Auburn tells herself she’s a good girl, and doesn’t bring guys back to her home), there wasn’t anything I really loved in it either.

I was actually quite surprised by this, as I was so into It Ends With Us, but Confess just isn’t as good a book. It’s fine, there are some lovely portrayals of teenage love and familial obligations, the dedication one can show to one’s family and some very tender moments with Auburn, as well as a sensitive portrait of how some people can take advantage of others in their vulnerability, but it didn’t resonate with me the way I expected it to.

The one thing I did actually really like about this book, and I think the effect was lessened because I was reading it on Kindle, was that the paintings described in the book were actually included in the book as well. It was really nice to have a visual representation of what was being discussed, and I wonder if the paintings are in colour if you’re reading on a tablet or kindle fire, etc.

I finished the book somewhat disappointed, probably because I had expected more.

Three Stars
***

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “Confess – Colleen Hoover

  1. Pingback: Challenge Update – One Quarter Through | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

