Challenge Update – One Quarter Through

I mentioned briefly at the start of the year that although I wasn’t doing the PopSugar or Modern Mrs Darcy reading challenges this year, I have set myself a GoodReads challenge, and my own personal challenge to read:

  • A book by an author whose first name begins with the letters A-Z
  • A book by an author whose surname begins with the letters A-Z
  • A book with a title that starts with the letters A-Z

So since we’re now into April, and therefore one quarter of the way through the year, I figured what better time to have a look at how I’m doing?!

GoodReads Challenge

I set my challenge number at 100 books for the year, and I’m pretty sure that I’ll surpass it. As of today, I’m on 38, which is 13 ahead of schedule, according to GoodReads. That does include a few short stories, but I’m confident that I’ll still manage to break this challenge before the end of the year.

bookchallengeMar

First Names A-Z Challenge

A
Alyssa B Sheinmel Second Star
Anna Bell The Good Girlfriend’s Guide to Getting Even
B
Brian Jacques Rakkety Tam
C
CJ Redwine The Shadow Queen
Colleen Hoover It Ends With Us
Colleen Hoover Confess
D    
E
Erin Kelly He Said/She Said
F    
G
Garth Nix Frogkisser!
George RR Martin A Storm of Swords
George RR Martin A Feast for Crows
George RR Martin A Dance With Dragons
H
Heidi Heilig The Ship Beyond Time
I    
J
Jennifer Chance Courted
Jennifer L Armentrout The Problem with Forever
Jill Mansell The Unpredictable Consequences of Love
Josh Martin Ariadnis
K
Kendare Blake Three Dark Crowns
L
Lindsey Kelk I Heart Christmas
M
Maria Snyder Dawn Study
Maria V Snyder Touch of Power
Mhairi McFarlane Who’s That Girl?
N
Nigel McDowell The House of Mountfathom
O    
P
Paige Toon The Longest Holiday
Patrick Ness A Monster Calls
Q    
R
Renee Ahdieh The Wrath and the Dawn
Roisin Meaney I’ll Be Home For Christmas
S
Sheena Kamal Eyes Like Mine
SJ Kincaid The Diabolic
Sophie Nicholls Miss Mary’s Book of Dreams
T
Tamora Pierce Alanna: The First Adventure
Tamora Pierce In the Hand of the Goddess
Tamora Pierce The Woman Who Rides Like A Man
Tamora Pierce Lioness Rampant
Trish Moran Mirror Image
U    
V
Victoria Purman The CEO
Violet Vaughn Craving for Love
W    
X    
Y    
Z
Total: 16

With sixteen letters checked off at the quarter-way mark, I’m pretty happy with how this is going. However, most of the letters that are left are more difficult ones, and will require some thought or searching to fill them in. I know of very few authors whose names start with X, for example.

Surnames A-Z Challenge

A
Ahdieh Renee The Wrath and the Dawn
Armentrout Jennifer L The Problem with Forever
B
Bell Anna The Good Girlfriend’s Guide to Getting Even
Blake Kendare Three Dark Crowns
C
Chance Jennifer Courted
D    
E    
F    
G    
H
Heilig Heidi The Ship Beyond Time
Hoover Colleen It Ends With Us
Hoover Colleen Confess
I    
J
Jacques Brian Rakkety Tam
K
Kamal Sheena Eyes Like Mine
Kelk Lindsey I Heart Christmas
Kelly Erin He Said/She Said
Kincaid SJ The Diabolic
L    
M
Mansell Jill The Unpredictable Consequences of Love
Martin George RR A Storm of Swords
Martin Josh Ariadnis
Martin George RR A Feast for Crows
Martin George RR A Dance With Dragons
McDowell Nigel The House of Mountfathom
McFarlane Mhairi Who’s That Girl?
Meaney Roisin I’ll Be Home For Christmas
Moran Trish Mirror Image
N
Ness Patrick A Monster Calls
Nicholls Sophie Miss Mary’s Book of Dreams
Nix Garth Frogkisser!
O    
P
Pierce Tamora Alanna: The First Adventure
Pierce Tamora In the Hand of the Goddess
Pierce Tamora The Woman Who Rides Like A Man
Pierce Tamora Lioness Rampant
Purman Victoria The CEO
Q    
R
Redwine CJ The Shadow Queen
S
Sheinmel Alyssa B Second Star
Snyder Maria Dawn Study
Snyder Maria V Touch of Power
T
Toon Paige The Longest Holiday
U    
V
Vaughn Violet Craving for Love
W    
X    
Y    
Z
Total: 13

At only 13 complete, this one is three behind the first names, so I’m a little disappointed in this one. Again, lots of the letters left are difficult ones (X again…) but there are some common ones in there that I had just assumed would be filled by now as well (D, for example).

Nonetheless, I’ve got 50% of the letters checked off and 75% of the year to go, so I’m in a relatively strong position here as well.

Title A-Z Challenge

A
Alanna: The First Adventure Pierce Tamora
Ariadnis Martin Josh
B    
C
CEO, The Purman Victoria
Confess Hoover Colleen
Courted Chance Jennifer
Craving for Love Vaughn Violet
D
Dance With Dragons, A Martin George RR
Dawn Study Snyder Maria
Diabolic, The Kincaid SJ
E
Eyes Like Mine Kamal Sheena
F
Feast for Crows, A Martin George RR
Frogkisser! Nix Garth
G
Good Girlfriend’s Guide to Getting Even, The Bell Anna
H
He Said/She Said Kelly Erin
House of Mountfathom, The McDowell Nigel
I
I Heart Christmas Kelk Lindsey
I’ll Be Home For Christmas Meaney Roisin
In the Hand of the Goddess Pierce Tamora
It Ends With Us Hoover Colleen
J    
K    
L
Lioness Rampant Pierce Tamora
Longest Holiday, The Toon Paige
M
Mirror Image Moran Trish
Miss Mary’s Book of Dreams Nicholls Sophie
Monster Calls, A Ness Patrick
N    
O    
P
Problem with Forever, The Armentrout Jennifer L
Q    
R
Rakkety Tam Jacques Brian
S
Second Star Sheinmel Alyssa B
Shadow Queen, The Redwine CJ
Ship Beyond Time, The Heilig Heidi
Storm of Swords, A Martin George RR
T
Three Dark Crowns Blake Kendare
Touch of Power Snyder Maria V
U
Unpredictable Consequences of Love, The Mansell Jill
V    
W
Who’s That Girl? McFarlane Mhairi
Woman Who Rides Like A Man, The Pierce Tamora
Wrath and the Dawn, The Ahdieh Renee
X    
Y    
Z
Total: 16

Sixteen of these done as well, so I’m happy with how this one is going. It’s worth noting that I’m not counting ‘A’ or ‘The’ as the actual title words for any books, hence why books are noted as Wrath and the Dawn, the, etc.

Once again, I’m going to have to do some serious research before I fill in all of these categories, since some of the letters left are pretty strange ones, but nonethless, I have lots of time in which to do it, and I’m not a terrible researcher, I like to think.

For the moment, I’m filling books in under all categories. Once I get a bit further into the year, I’ll try to avoid duplicating books by using them to fil more than one category, but we’ll see how that goes – I would need 72 different books to fill all the categories separately!

Overall, at this point in the year, I’m pretty pleased with how my reading is going. Having just bought my first car, my major reading time (while commuting) has vanished (apparently it’s frowned on to read while driving…), so I’m going to have to rejig my life a little to find more time to read, but I’m confident I’ll get there!

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “Challenge Update – One Quarter Through

  1. Pingback: The Judge’s Wife – Ann O’Loughlin | Much Ado About Books

  2. Pingback: Challenge Update – September 2017 | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

