The Goodreads Book Tag

grbtOn a quiet and not particularly busy Friday afternoon when I’m doing anything I can to avoid having to mark assignments, I noticed Becky had posted a book tag that I found quite fun – The Goodreads Book Tag. I was only discussing with my sister last week that I haven’t put my whole backlist of read books onto goodreads, because I do actually have some restrictions on my time, but I try to use it as often as I can now, both to keep track of what I’m reading and to find new books to read! Unfortunately, it can end up being a massive time suck as I get pulled into lists of books that I absolutely must read and end up with fifteen open tabs and five of them are Amazon, so… in any case!

Let me just open up my Goodreads so I have the answers to my questions, and try not to get lost…

The Goodreads Book Tag!

What was the last book you marked as read?

25181955Spellslinger by Sebastien de Castell – I absolutely loved this cardthrowing Western with a magical element, frankly quite useless protagonist, and sardonic talking squirrel cat, and instantly shelved the sequel, Shadowblack, as to-read.

What are you currently reading?

Currently (as of this morning!) I have Sophie Kinsella’s My Not-So Perfect Life on the go as an audiobook, and I’m reading Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. I’m not far enough into the Kinsella to have an opinion, and I’m very torn on Eleanor Oliphant. She’s compelling as a main character, but utterly infuriating in her obliviousness. Perhaps other people find her endearing, but I really want to throttle the poor woman.

What was the last book you marked as ‘to read’?

The Pearl Thief by Elizabeth Wein. I absolutely adored Code Name Verity, and this prequel is being published next week. I only realised yesterday that it was coming (and so sooon!) so it was instantly added to my to-read shelf, and will be bought as soon as I can get my grubby little hands on a copy of it.

34593693Do you use the star rating system?

I do! I try to rate as soon as I finish the book, but I sometimes need to go back and change it as my opinion changes sometimes as I contemplate the book and how it lingered with me. I’d prefer a 10 star rating though. Five is so restrictive!

Are you doing the 2017 reading challenge?

I am indeed! My aim is 100 books, and I’m currently on 46, which isn’t too bad!

Do you have a wishlist?

I have a to-read list on GoodReads, but I don’t always pay attention to it when I’m actually buying books, plus the books on it aren’t always all of the books I do intend to read. So while there are some overlaps, it wouldn’t really be fair to say that my to-read is a wishlist.

Who are your favorite authors?

Garth Nix, Jaclyn Moriarty, Gayle Forman, Elizabeth Wein, Dorothy Koomson, Jodi Picoult, Sophie Kinsella… Turns out I have a serious leaning towards female authors, with Garth Nix as the exception!

Have you joined any groups?

Technically, yes. The groups I have joined are totally inactive though, so it would be disingenuous to say that I’m actually really participating.

How many Goodreads shelves do you have?

11. Currently-reading, Read, To-Read, Favourites and Abandoned, which are all pretty self-explanatory. Then there’s also Read-in-2015, the only year I did that; Books Sinéad sent me picture of, because she sends me pictures of books she likes the look of, and I like to keep track of them; Yalc 2016, which was started with the best of intentions of tracking the books I read from YALC, but was abandoned quickly; Australian Wishlist, which I think I set up for a competition; and dystopia, because I like to read a lot of them. My shelves would be absolutely useless to anyone else ever, except maybe Sinéad, who could probably get some use out of the one about her.

I TAG…

Aoife from Pretty Purple Polka Dots, to save this up for one of her Tag Thursdays.

6 Comments

Filed under Books

6 responses to “The Goodreads Book Tag

  1. Aislinn thank you so much for the tag! I’m afraid this has already been taken for a Tag Thursday but thank you so much for thinking of me.

  2. Awh no! I’ll have to go look at your answers then. =)

  3. Thanks for the mention! Glad you decided to do this. Hope you had as much fun with it as I did. 🙂

  4. It was good fun! I didn’t realise actually that I had so many shelves – most of them are just sitting there all ignored and unloved. =(

  5. Hehe, maybe time for a clear out!

  6. Pingback: The Fifth Letter – Nicola Moriarty | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

