Weekend Book Haul

This weekend was great for a whole variety of reasons. Number one, of course, it was the weekend. I love my job, but I love weekends, too. Number two, this weekend was the annual Pieta House flagship fundraiser, Darkness into Light. A 5km walk which starts in darkness and ends in daylight, this was the second year in a row that I participated, and it’s a really great experience. With 150 walks worldwide, the feeling of connection with friends and family in London, Copenhagen, Maynooth, Cork, and many other places, was a surge of support for those who may be struggling, and a resounding chorus of voices saying ‘It’s ok not to be ok.’

But this weekend was also great for a number of other reasons, because I got tons of book post and new books. In three days, I got six new books, and I’m super excited to read ALL of them, so I figured I’d post about them today.

The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas

I entered a MaximumPop! competition to win a signed copy of the book that it seems like everyone is talking about, oh, weeks ago, and then promptly forgot about it. I enter a lot of MaximumPop! competitions, because their prizes are almost always awesome, so I was delighted that I had forgotten I was even in the running to win this gorgeous signed copy of a book that I absolutely wanted to read so much that I had already bought a copy. So now I have a spare copy of THUG, and I’ll need to decide what to do with it, and I’m super hyped to read this fictionalisation of the Black Lives Matter movement20170508_080134[1]

One Of Us Is Lying – Karen M McManus

32887579This is the book I’m currently reading. A NetGalley from Penguin, it sounds like a subversion of the teen movie tropes, as five social stereotypes walk into detention, and one doesn’t walk out. As the school’s gossip mill, Simon, the victim, had secrets on all four other detention-ites and his death wasn’t an accident. All of them are suspects, all of them had something to hide, but which of them was the killer? Or is someone else lurking out there, using these four as their fall guy? I’m only two chapters in, but already the conspiracies have been set up, Simon is choking on the floor, and I’m tempted to just sack off work so that I can dig my teeth into this book which looks sure to be an entrancing thriller.

A Court of Wings and Ruin – Sarah J Maas

23766634

I posted a few months ago about how much I was looking forward to the release of ACOWAR, the third in the ACOTAR trilogy. In classic me style, I’ve managed once again to post about the first book and forget to review the second. Suffice it to say that A Court of Mist and Fury was actually a big step up from A Court of Thorns and Roses, with development of the different courts, a new threat looming, and Feyre really coming into her own as she navigates her new life among the Fae. This conclusion to her story promises to be full of deception, intrigue, secrets, magic, and hopefully loads and loads of Rhysand, the dark, moody, complex Lord of the Night Court, as well as his posse of motley companions and friends. I can’t wait to get started on this!

Our Chemical Hearts – Krystal Sutherland

30795525I read this last year, and it was one of my favourite books of 2016. Because I read a NetGalley of it, I felt like it was the kind of book that I liked enough to buy a hard copy to sit on my shelf, and it was only £4 on Amazon, so now it’s sitting in my pile of ‘read’ books, waiting to be shelved. Admittedly, I didn’t think about the fact that my bookcase is so full that I actually won’t be able to put it in there for at least several months, until I clear it out, or get new shelves, but at least I have it. And it’s so pretty with its bright white cover and gorgeous blue fish! Definitely a happy camper after this purchase.

Close Your Eyes – Nicci Cloke 

33765805

The second offering that I’ll have read from Nicci Cloke, after Follow Me Back, one of last year’s earliest reads, I actually wasn’t going to pick this up, because I didn’t love Follow Me Back. But actually, after reading the blurb of Close Your Eyes, and bearing in mind how much I enjoy school shooting books (yes, I know that’s weird, I don’t know why I like them so much, but I do), I figured I may as well give this one a try. If it’s anything as good as This Is Where It Ends, I’m onto a good thing here.

Nomad – James Swallow

28954858Somewhat bizarrely, I’m not entirely sure why or how I got this book. I got a missed parcel slip last week, and assumed that it was THUG, because I knew that it was on the way. But then when I picked up the parcel, it was Nomad, a book published by Zaffre (which I am on the blogger list for, admittedly) in 2016, this isn’t a new book, so I can’t quite figure out why I got it. But nonetheless, the blurb sounds intriguing, and it’ll be a real change of pace from the other books on my list from this weekend, as it covers totally different ground. Not a fantasy, not a YA, not set around a school, it looks like it’s going to be tense, taut, and a total change of pace for me.

20170508_080120[1]So that’s everything that showed up on my doorstep (or Kindle) over the weekend. Quite a range of books, tackling a bunch of different issues, I’m excited to read them all. So far in 2017, I haven’t actually re-read any books. Everything has been fresh and new. But I might break that streak with Our Chemical Hearts, because I enjoyed it so much last year (and it’s so pretty). Still though, with five other new books clamouring to be devoured, it remains to be seen whether or not I’ll restrain myself enough to revisit a prior favourite. Either way, my TBR just got a few books longer, and my free time has a few more demands on it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

