The To Not To Read Tag

I’ve been terrible at following through on finishing books this week. I’ve got three books on the go at the moment – If Birds Fly Back in hard copy, STAGS on the Kindle, and The Gift on audiobook – but none of them are finished, so I can’t review any of them.

So today’s post is a divergence from the review standard, and is a tag post. The To Not To Read tag focuses on books that you Did Not Finish. I’m not very good at putting down a book when I don’t like it, which means I end up slogging through a lot of ridiculous books (eventually) but I’m hoping I’ll have books for all the categories on this!

Rules are as follows:

Rules:

  • Thank the person that tagged you (nobody tagged me, but I found this on Stephanie’s blog.)
  • Include ping-back to creator of tag (Icebreaker694)
  • Answer questions (See below!)
  • Tag other poor souls to do this (Not gonna do that, but if you do, feel free to link back and I’ll read!)
  • Easy right?
  • Oh and only use books that you DNF as your answer hence the “to not to read” part.

What book would you be willing to finish?

34844398

Knights of the Borrowed Dark. 

My main issue with KOTBD was that the file was damaged. I’m still contemplating picking up a copy of it and reading it, but along with eleven million other books on my TBR, it’s just being ignored.

A dystopian book that you put down.

8529832Oh God. This is a hard one. I really like dystopia, even bad ones, so I find it hard to put them down. I had to resort to Wikipedia, and that says that The Passage is a dystopia, and I abandoned that way back in 2011, so I’ll count that.

Although I wanted to use that for a haunting read… I’ll keep thinking.

A book that you just didn’t want to finish at all.

17412188Second Life

Despite really quite enjoying SJ Watson’s first book, and getting halfway through Second Life, I really didn’t care enough to borrow it from my sister, and the three or four times that I’ve visited since, I just haven’t picked it up. Or looked into getting a copy of my own. I just don’t care about it.

A sequel.

12812550

Days of Blood and Starlight

I wasn’t sold on Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and I rapidly lost interest in Days of Blood and Starlight. I might pick it up again some time in the future if I’m very bored, but I don’t see it happening any time soon.

A book you’ll never again pick up.

19181268

Taking the Fall

I love Dick Francis and John Francome’s books. Crime, horses, sex, jockeys… it’s all going on. So when I saw that AP McCoy had written a novel, I was so on board with it. But I got 15% of the way into the book, and the main character left a girl tied to a bed in a hotel, and when he came back later, she’d been raped by a member of hotel staff, and the book glossed over it like it was an exciting sexual adventure. I didn’t even bother put this book on any goodreads shelves because I don’t think it deserves that much attention. I felt absolutely sick with disgust at it, and will never, ever read anything he writes.

A book with too much hype.

24480276The Versions of Us

For weeks when I bought this, it was in the windows of bookshops and lauded as the next great thing. I managed three chapters of it before consigning it to my bedside locker, hoping to pick it up again, and then eventually moved it back to the TBR. Last I saw it, my sister had borrowed it. That was about four months ago, and I’m not a bit bothered by its absence. I don’t know what it was about this book, but it absolutely failed to grab me, and just sat there staring balefully at me for months until I hid it out of guilt.

A haunting read.

24280Can I use The Passage again?

I’ve got nothing for this. No idea at all. I can’t think of a single book that would fit. I don’t read haunting stories, let alone abandon them. Rats.

Oh oh oh, wait! I’ve got one! Les Misérables!

It was too big. I couldn’t read it. Maybe some day. When I’m retired. But Fantine definitely flies around as a ghost in that for a while.

Although maybe that’s just the musical. I dunno. I’m taking it.

A contemporary.

16119827

Double Trouble

Free on iBooks, I started this about a year ago and quickly abandoned it. I may return some time. But it’s unlikely I will.

A book you were unsure of.

3123514

Tara Road

Near the end of last year, I was scrambling to finish my book challenges, and was looking for a book from Oprah’s book club. Although I went for The Color Purple in the end, I did briefly toy with the idea of Tara Road, because my mother loves Maeve Binchy, and the two or three I’ve read were alright. But it’s a behemoth, and I was running out of time, so I abandoned it for a number of reasons, but mostly because I had never been sure I wanted to read it in the first place.

 

Surprisingly, I managed (eventually) to come up with a book for every category on this tag. Although some might be stretching it a bit. Nonetheless, that’s my tag finished, and I invite you to do it too!

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “The To Not To Read Tag

  1. I still haven’t started the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, even though I bought the first book a couple years ago. I’m just not sure the writing style is one I really like.

  2. I don’t even remember what my problem with it was. It just seemed so forgettable, I can’t recall what happened in the first book. I think it was something about predestination that irked me. Lots of very quotable passages in it though!

Leave a Reply

