YALC – one week to go!

It’s Friday afternoon and I’m sitting at my desk. I’m supposed to be writing a module guide, ready for students for next academic year. But instead, it’s just occurred to me that there is only *one* week until YALC. Because I had other things in my diary (notably a graduation yesterday, which was really fun – I love being  a lecturer!), I hadn’t really paid attention to just how close YALC is, and that I need to start planning my attendance. There are so many awesome authors and talks and panels going to be on and there that I need to really crack down and decide which books I want to bring and which I want to get signed and which I really need to read before next week. Can I take the entire week off work just to read? Probably not, sadly…

In any case, there are *so many* authors on the list attending that I’ve read and liked books from – I need to decide whether or not I’m going to get copies signed!

The one author on here that I absolutely intend to buy/read before YALC is Elizabeth Wein, because I really, really loved Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire. The others I’m going to have to really think about before I go, so that I can decide what’s important to me and what I can let slide. And also what I have a hard copy of, and what was a kindle version!

But then I have the other issue, of all the authors who’ll be there that I’m excited for their books, and I own them, or I want to buy them, but I haven’t gotten around to reading them yet. And THOSE authors will be there and I want to fangirl over their books with them, but I can’t, because I just don’t have the time to read them yet! I reckon I could manage The Pearl Thief and at least one book from this list, but decisions are tough, so I’m looking for suggestions on which of these I absolutely should try to read this week. Your help much appreciated!

Lastly, if any of you are going to be at YALC, do let me know! I’d love to meet up and chat bookishly!

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “YALC – one week to go!

  1. Pingback: The Pearl Thief – Elizabeth Wein | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

