Remix – Non Pratt

After all my posts about YALC last week, it’s worth noting that Remix is actually the first Non Pratt book I’ve read. Two best friends at a festival for a weekend, this was the kind of refreshing journey into British YA that I really needed at the time.

Remix – Non Pratt

30369794Boys don’t break your heart; best friends do. A funny touching story about friendship from the Guardian’s “writer to watch” Non Pratt, author of Trouble – one of the most talked about debuts of the year. Kaz is still reeling from being dumped by the love of her life. Ruby is bored of hearing about it. Time to change the record. Three days. Two best mates. One music festival. Zero chance of everything working out. Perfect for fans of John Green, Judy Blume and Rainbow Rowell.

Ruby and Kaz are best friends, at a music festival for the weekend with a motley crew of friends, family, and exes. As much about the human experience as about the music acts they’re going to see, this summer between the end of school and the start of sixth form is a time of great change for them both – and music festival Remix is obviously the best time for them to come to terms with it.

Laden with friendship, sex, lies, cheating, breakups, get-togethers, exes, new friends, some terribly bad decisions, and the quintessential festival problem of forgetting to charge your phone, Remix is true to life and thoroughly enjoyable. Neither Ruby nor Kaz (nor most of the other characters, in fairness) is perfect, and both make some seriously questionable decisions, but the underlying thread of this book, and what makes it so great to read, is the love and dedication they have for each other, for their best friend. Teenage girls are so full of emotion, and capable of forming such strong bonds so quickly (also demonstrated over the weekend), but the friendship bonds we see in this book are fierce and wild and hugely enjoyable to read about.

A refreshingly honest summer YA, Non Pratt has wonderfully captured the alcohol-fuelled, hormone-driven, music-filled and sun-soaked (okay, that was unrealistic, I don’t think it rained ONCE all book) atmosphere of a summer weekend music festival, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I will definitely be delving into more of Pratt’s work.

Four Stars
****

Advertisements

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “Remix – Non Pratt

  1. Pingback: August Roundup | Much Ado About Books

  2. Pingback: Challenge Update – September 2017 | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s