Charmcaster – Sebastien de Castell

I received a copy of this book from the publisher on NetGalley.

I’ve made no secret of the fact that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the first two books in de Castell’s Spellslinger series, gushing about how much I loved Spellslinger and the followup, Shadowblack. So when I saw that the third was available on NetGalley, I had it requested before I even had time to say ‘oooooh!’.

Charmcaster (Spellslinger #3) – Sebastien de Castell

36302416.jpgThe third book in the page-turning SPELLSLINGER fantasy series.

‘I was getting almost as good at running away from enemies as I was at making them in the first place. Turns out, I wasn’t running nearly fast enough.’

Kellen has begun to master his spellslinging and the Argosi tricks for staying alive, and he and Reichis have found a career that suits them both: taking down mercenary mages who make people’s lives miserable. But Ferius is concerned that Kellen is courting disaster . . .

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

I really loved the first two books in this series, and Charmcaster is a worthy installation. With extra development about Kellen’s life in the six months or so since the last book, as well as some history on Ferius Parfax, his mentor, and an unwinding story that hints at even greater things to come in the next three books.

This book is full of the snark, wit, and terrible incompetent main character that I loved in the first two books. Reichis is his usual thieving, chittering, violent self, and Kellen is incompetent but still loveable. Ferius is bewildering and cool, and the reintroduction of a few characters we’ve seen before added depth and nuance to the story.

Kellen and his crew have travelled to a new country this time, Gitabria, a nation of traders and inventors, and unsurprisingly they run into a whole heap of trouble once more. Thieving, spellslinging, card painting, and banter all make reappearances, and I loved every word of it.

I can’t wait for the fourth book in the series, Soulbinder, and I’m going to have to check out de Castell’s adult series, Greatcoats, to tide me over in the mean time.

Also to add, the cover artist has knocked it out of the park again. Charmcaster’s cover puts Reichis to the fore, and the internal illustrations are also spectacular. Big thumbs up to Hot Key books’ art team!

Five Stars
*****

 

Advertisements

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “Charmcaster – Sebastien de Castell

  1. Pingback: April Roundup | Much Ado About Books

  2. Pingback: Soulbinder – Sebastien de Castell | Much Ado About Books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s