Daily Archives: October 4, 2018

Soulbinder – Sebastien de Castell

Today is publication day for the fourth book in the Spellslinger series, Soulbinder and also for the paperback version of the third book, Charmcaster.

I’m not quiet about the fact that I’m hugely enjoying this series. As well as that, Hot Key, the publisher, hosted a bloggers brunch last weekend where we got to meet Sebastien de Castell, ask questions, and eat doughnuts. Is it safe to say that I’m a fan of all these things? Does Reichis like to eat eyeballs? That’s a hard yes.

I received a NetGalley copy of this book.

Soulbinder (Spellslinger #4) – Sebastien de Castell

soulbinderThe fourth book in the page-turning SPELLSLINGER fantasy series. 

Kellen and his murderous squirrel cat, Reichis, are on their own. They’ve heard rumour of a mythical monastery, known as the Ebony Abbey. It’s a place that outsiders can never find – but Kellen is getting desperate. He’s been told that the monks inside the Ebony Abbey know more about the Shadowblack than anyone else – and that they even know how to cure it.

Then Kellen and Reichis are separated and for the first time, Kellen must face the world alone – and venture deeper into shadow magic than he ever knew he could.

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

The fourth installment in the Spellslinger series, this one takes a step away from previous books, and Kellen is very much on his own. Out in the desert with Reichis, by a very early point in the narrative, Kellen is faced with new dilemmas, new choices, and nobody to bounce his ideas off. The development of his character up to this point is really something I admire, as he’s becoming a person he never thought he would be, but also accepting who he is and what he wants to do in his life.
I have very few complaints about this book. We saw more of the world that Kellen lives in, and met a host of new characters who were massively interesting. Kellen learned more about the Shadowblack, and what it can eventually do to you (spoiler alert… it’s not pretty), and makes new friends and experiences new betrayals. There is not a lot of Reichis in this book, which is sad, but also mandated by the narrative. The one good thing I can say is that there is eyeball eating – after three books of threats, we finally do see a scene, which is gruesome and gross, but so Reichis.
Soulbinder is the fourth in a series of five, but the stakes at the end of this book don’t really feel like they’ve been ramped up enough to build to a massive climax, which is interesting. It’s not disappointing, because the ending of this book was very satisfying, but I’m hugely interested to see how the tension is ratcheted up in Queenslayer to give us a sufficiently satisfying ending.
Although I don’t recommend reading this book without having read its predecessors, I do heartily recommend it as a wonderful instalment of the series, and am impatiently awaiting the finale

Five Stars
*****

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Books