If We’re Not Married By Thirty – Anna Bell

I received a NetGalley copy of this book from the publisher.

I’ve read another of Anna Bell’s books – The Good Girlfriend’s Guide to Getting Even – and really wasn’t keen on the characterisation. But there was enough good writing and humour in there to mean that I didn’t write the author off completely. And I’m glad I didn’t, because this was a really enjoyable book of escapism, which I’m very glad I read.

If We’re Not Married by Thirty – Anna Bell

40376037.jpgA brilliantly funny, romantic and effervescent read, If We’re Not Married by Thirty is the irresistible new novel from the bestselling author of The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart and It Started With a Tweet. For fans of Lindsey Kelk and Sophie Kinsella. 

Lydia’s not exactly #LivingHerBestLife. She never imagined she’d be here at thirty – newly single, a job that’s going nowhere and her friends all winning at life when she’s still barely taking part. So she jumps at the chance of a free holiday and jets off to sunny Spain.

Then, out of the blue, she bumps into her childhood friend, the handsome and charming Danny Whittaker. She’s always had a crush on him and they soon enter into a passionate holiday romance.

But this relationship could be more than just a fling. Years ago they made a pact that if they were still single when they turned thirty they would get married. But noone really follows through on these pacts . . . right?

Could Lydia’s back-up man really be her happy ever after?

Praise for Anna Bell:

‘The perfect laugh-out-loud love story’ Louise Peatland 

‘Smart, witty and completely fresh’ Cathy Bramley

I really enjoyed this book. It was exactly what I was looking for. A funny, fresh, fast-paced romance which was full of twists and turns, but came with a guaranteed HEA. Danny and Lydia have known each other since they were knee high to a grasshopper, and on a drunken night at a wedding, after a spectacular kiss, they make a pact that if they’re not married by thirty, they’ll hitch themselves together. Spending a glorious week in Spain leads to an impulsive decision to make good on the pact, and the two begin to twine their lives together in the coming months as they prepare for happily wedded bliss. But the path to happily ever after never does run smooth, and jobs, friends, family, and too many people having a key to your house leads to some extremely mortifying situations.
This book was light and entertaining, and had a great cast of characters – particularly Danny and Lydia’s mums, who are best friends and clearly rooting for the couple to succeed, but in trying to help making everything much more difficult. I also particularly liked that the book had some followup details in the form of Christmas Round Robins, which showed that things don’t end up working out perfectly the second you have the ring on your finger.
Anna Bell has created a cast of characters here who are lovable and relatable, and a situation which, although daft in some ways, still had me rooting for the couple to succeed. And, of course, they do, but not in an unbelievable way. They settle their difficulties like actual human beings, and come to sensible decisions, but seeing this couple who were meant to be come to a compromise which means they both live happily ever after was a delightful journey to follow them on.

Four Stars
****

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “If We’re Not Married By Thirty – Anna Bell

  1. Pingback: December Roundup | Much Ado About Books

Start a Conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.