Book #143 – Demon Girl/Glamour – Penelope Fletcher

demon_girl_fletcherI’ve had this book on my Kindle for ages, and I don’t know who or what or where I got the recommendation from, but if I did know, I’d be having serious words with them. This book underwent a name change between when I got it and when I read it, so although I had a file called ‘The Demon Girl’, it’s now called ‘Glamour’. It’s a self-published Kindle book, which currently retails at £0.00 on Amazon, and that’s probably all I’d be willing to pay for it.
The name change also makes it confusing on GoodReads, as it’s called Demon Girl there, although there is an entry for glamour, but the author’s name is spelled wrong… it’s just one big mess.

Demon Girl – Penelope Fletcher

Book One. Rae Wilder has problems. Supernatural creatures swarm the earth, and humanity is on the brink of extinction. Stalked by a handsome fairy who claims she is like him, demonkind, Rae thinks maybe it was a mistake breaking the rules by going over the Wall into demon territory. Plunged into a world of dark magics, fierce creatures, and ritual sacrifice, she is charged with a guarding a magical amulet. The changes to her mind and body are startling, but rather than accept her purpose she struggles against who she is destined to be. Throw in a big lust for a vampire who can’t keep his hands off her, and life starts to get complicated. Rae is forced to make the ultimate choice: to live and die human, or embrace her birth-right and wield magics that could turn her into something wicked, a force of nature nothing can control.

The premise of this book seems interesting – I love demon lore, and it also includes vampires and shapeshifters, so on the face of it, I should be delighted with this book.
Well, I wasn’t. It’s sloppily written, poorly paced, is clearly supposed to be a hook to get you to buy the following three books and is, generally, a poor example of what self-publishing can be.
There’s a lot to be said for a publishing house as a filter for quality, and this is one of those scenarios where I would’ve been as happy if this book never reached my hands. Rae is a massive Mary-Sue, with not one, but two amazingly hot guys in love with her (not another love triangle, *sigh*) within a day, a fight for her life, the realisation that she’s a super-powered demon and a fight for her life and the lives of all she loves.
It was too much, too fast, unconvincing, poorly written, laden with spelling mistakes and failed utterly to suck me into its world. I won’t be getting the sequels, which, for me, is an incredibly poor assessment – I did, after all, read ALL the sequels to Twilight, despite how poorly I rated it.

No recommendation from me, and a poor score.
Two Stars
**

Start a Conversation

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.